We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee and theatre magic”
Review of 229 on Main Cafe

229 on Main Cafe
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 April 2024

This is not our first visit here but their coffee is good so we returned. The cafe is located in an old theatre that is in need of some maintenance. It was a great initiative to put a cafe in here. The main room is a bit of a museum to old theatre memorabilia and the quirkiness appeals to us. The service is very friendly and there is a good menu for breakfast and lunch.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2023

Just had a bacon and egg roll and a flat white coffee ordered extra hot. The top of the bacon and egg roll was burnt with parts that were charred black. The coffee was luke warm, watery and pretty well tasteless. We were told that the card reader was "down" so we had to pay cash. My husband had a thickshake and a bacon and egg roll, also burnt but not as blackened. We were charged $31.50 for the two rolls, coffee and thickshake. Very disappointing.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank facarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2023

Amazing. The slammer burger is THE best burger ever. Just huge and yummy and at an amazing price of only $12

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jessgT6646ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2023

Must have got them on a bad day. The waitress was grubby, I think they forgot to put the coffee in the coffee and the food was beyond disgusting. And then there was the toilet!!!!!! The place should be condemned.

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2023

Wonderfully unique atmosphere in Old Cinema Theatre, complete with lots of memorabilia. Good varied menu for very good price. Friendly and efficient service and tasty fresh food. We loved it so much we plan to have another meal on our way out of town.

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mysticmeg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed 229 on Main Cafe also viewed

Peterborough, South Australia
Peterborough, South Australia
 
Peterborough, South Australia
Peterborough, South Australia
 

Been to 229 on Main Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.