We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee break”
Review of 229 on Main Cafe

229 on Main Cafe
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Peterborough
Restaurant details
Reviewed 24 August 2019

Stopped for a coffee and cake in the old picture theatre with wonderful memorabilia,a place of memories of a bygone era

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2019 via mobile

I was advised by my family to check this place out. It’s in the old Peterborough Theatre. Once inside you are surprised by the amount of memorabilia they have around, all relating to movies.

There is Alison a cafe that serves awesome food, and the biggest mug of coffee I’ve seen. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2019

Cafe is in a converted picture theatre. It is dark and quirky with lots of unusual displays. The service is friendly and the food is ok at reasonable prices. Plenty of parking out the front.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2019 via mobile

Nothing on the outside but when you walk in it is amazing to see the old movie theatre turned into an interesting eating place. The four of us all had lovely food and the memorabilia is well done. Staff were very friendly. Loved it.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank GlenysP726
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2019 via mobile

Interesting inside memorabilia but the food and coffee the worst on our 3 week trip so far. Scrambled eggs and bacon was terrible. Sorry, we try to support locals and did spend over $100 in the town but some places need to offer something better than rubbish on a plate to make people stop on the way through.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Brucenycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed 229 on Main Cafe also viewed

Peterborough, South Australia
Peterborough, South Australia
 
Peterborough, South Australia
Peterborough, South Australia
 

Been to 229 on Main Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.