We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of The Barker Hotel

The Barker Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Restaurants in Mount Barker
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Barker Hotel is a hotel for everyone, young and old! Whether you are after traditional pub-grub or something a little bit more fancy, The Barker Hotel has the perfect dish for you! Take advantage of our weekly food specials, monthly drink specials and live entertainment. Mondays: Gourmet Pie Day $16.90 Tuesdays: Schnitzel Day from $13.90 Wednesdays: Bump-day Burgers from $15.90 & family Magician 6-8pm Thursdays: Steak Day from $18.90 & Quizmeisters Quiz Night from 7.30pm Fridays: DJ from 9.30pm Saturdays: Live entertainment from 8.30pm All day dining Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at the Hotel just after 2:00pm with our four kids only to realise the bistro had shut. Nevertheless, this was not a problem for the Hotel's staff (including the chef who came and spoke to us directly).

The staff accommodated all of our requests from the main menu and even provided complimentary garlic bread, which we were able to enjoy in the lounge area of the Hotel.

The food exceeded all expectations and was fantastic. The pan seared barramundi was as good as we have ever eaten (if not the best) and the kid's meals were both quality and larger servings.

We will definitely be returning!

Thankyou to all of the staff, it really topped off a great family day at the Monarto Zoo.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Woodman_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The barker is a regular for us but we may avoid it in future. I was looking forward to a beef curry but it arrived with salad on top of the rice and the naan on top of that. the tomato was extremely cold which made the naan soggy. The flavour of the curry was good but the meal was spoiled by being placed in one bowl. When we told the woman behind the bar about it, she was quite sharp and insincere.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food menu, fantastic wine list, wide beer menu, great service, friendly staff. Winning formula.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Kevin2058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018

We met friends here for lunch and it was quite busy for a Tuesday but service was prompt and the menu extensive. we opted for the gnocchi and the girls the roast. Both were very nice and we will be back

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brenton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Easygoing, spacious, good choices. My pie was tasty and different. The seasonal veges were nutritious but lumpy. Not well displayed. There was a funny moment after we'd finished eating when someone hurried by and lobbed two rolls onto the table without comment. There were 4 of us and we hadn't been served rolls at all so we wrapped them up and took them home. Happy to return despite this! PS We did decline when someone tried to give us a roast of the day!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glenys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barker Hotel also viewed

Mount Barker, Adelaide Hills
Mount Barker, Adelaide Hills
 
Mount Barker, Adelaide Hills
Mount Barker, Adelaide Hills
 
Mount Barker, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The Barker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing