We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Sunday Family Lunch”

Ekhidna Wines McLaren Vale Cellar Door
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in McLaren Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Ekhidna Wines Restaurant offers one of the most picturesque dining experiences on the Fleurieu Peninsula. Ekhidna Wines Restaurant menu showcases the best of locally-sourced produce and imported international ingredients. Paired with it's award winning hand-crafted wines and beer by Matt Rechner
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We had lunch here for the first time and we werent disappointed..Food was excellent and we all enjoyed the wine
Staff were very attentive and service was great..! We would definately go back..

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 157shereea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

We finally got back here in March 2018. We'd enjoyed our visit in 2017 but just hadn't got back. Finally- the food is still great- it's a upper class pub style that is relaxed- good, simple food done well. The setting is stunning and the wines delightful.
A new chef since our last visit which explains some of the flavour changes we noted on this visit but the essence of Ekhidna as a casual place to dine remains. Looking forward to returning.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The sparkling shiraz is a very good choice. As for the atmosphere also 5 out of five, we sat alfresco which was very pleasant. food though3 out of 5 my partner had the chicken which was bland and not a vegetable to be found whils i tried the riasted beef serloin which is generally a melt in the mouth dish, but not this one. The waitress issued me with a huge steak knife....really. steak should not need such an angry weapon ever.
She obviously knew what i was in for.
Said medium roasted but was needing a little longer (not bloody but not cooked enough) chewy and had sinew.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Fantastic food and wines. Menu is diverse and food is flavourfull. Great location and views from restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Lunch at this location was vrery good with a great selection of food, but the wine tasting experience was very commercial and impersonal. There are better alternatives near by for wine tasting.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank b0bsmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ekhidna Wines McLaren Vale Cellar Door also viewed

McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Ekhidna Wines McLaren Vale Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing