We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
156
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
156
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail great cottage absolutely loved our stay tranquil surroundings perfect location short drive your doorstep bottle of wine salt pepper breakfast food friendly hospitality supplied breakfast amazing accommodation wonderful hosts great wineries welcome pack a wonderful stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2019 via mobile

You can tell that the owner, Georg, has a background in the Travel business; located beautifully with great views on the hills the Karawatha cottages are a real treat. We stayed in the Ponder. Nicely decorated, lots of eye for detail and very clean. There is a lovely shared area where you can BBQ. The cottages are located close to a couple of wineries that serve a good lunch. Do know that if you want to go out for diner in town you would have to go by car. All close but since we had wine tastings every day, with good food, we choose to use the BBQ for diner.
Georg and his wife are both very friendly and particularly Georg can refer you to some great wine experiences!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Babiche T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karawatha_Cottages, Owner at Karawatha Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2019

Wow - what an amazing review. Thanks so much Babiche.
So good to read how you have enjoyed your holiday in McLaren Vale, your stay at Karawatha Cottages with everything we have to offer ... and those special wine experiences. Being in McLaren Vale during vintage does create some rather unique opportunities, like the Geddes Wines vintage lunch you enjoyed in their winery that is exclusively available to our guests.
Hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to Australia.
Kind Regards
Georg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2019 via mobile

I had a lovely time here- the cottages are in a beautiful location, and are beautifully decorated inside. Our place was very clean and had everything we could need for our weekend away- we were even provided with excellent breakfast provisions. Would definitely return again!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ej123_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karawatha_Cottages, Owner at Karawatha Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2019

Thanks so much Emma for staying with us and for your great review. It's always very much appreciated and we are always thrilled to read when our guests enjoy their stay and all we have to offer.
Looking forward to welcoming you back some time.
Kind Regards
Georg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019

We stayed in the cottage called Ponder. Lovely furnishings, everything you need for your stay is right there. Great provisions for breakfasts, bottle of wine too. Excellent veranda to enjoy the magnificent views. Super hot when we were there but air conditioning was perfect. A short 5 minute walk to wineries was just brilliant. It’s quite close to the other cottages though, so if you are looking for total privacy this might not be for you.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SJRMWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karawatha_Cottages, Owner at Karawatha Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Thanks so much SRJMWS for choosing Karawatha Cottages and for your great review.
The location was one of the reasons for us to choose this property -- short walking distance to 3 cellar doors and 2 restaurants and those beautiful views. And still only 15 min away from the beaches, which certainly did come handy this summer with our extreme temperatures.

We do have indeed 3 cottages on 2.5 acres and whilst not offering total privacy, with the amount of space between the cottages, plus the trees and shrubs planted, you would only catch glimpses of each other on the private decks that each cottages offers.

We hope to be able to welcome you back some time - maybe winter next, to enjoy the combustion heaters inside the cottages or our open fireplace at the communal BBQ area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2019 via mobile

These cottages are beautiful, so cute and well presented. Very clean and the breakfast is yummy. Comfortable bed and great location.

Loved our stay! We will be back.

Very high recommended.

Thank you very much.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Familytravellers4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karawatha_Cottages, Owner at Karawatha Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2019

Thank you so much for choosing Karawatha Cottages as your place to stay for you mini break with your young family. It was lovely to have you stay with us and its great to read that you enjoyed it all.
Looking forward to welcome you back some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2018 via mobile

Karawatha is a lovely place surrounded by wineyards. Each cottage has its own style, every detail is perfect. Very well equiped and very clean. The whole property is well cultivated with lots of beautiful and flowering plants. Friederike and Georg are absolute super Hosts. They take care with love. We felt at home from the first moment. I‘m sure we will come again!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RainerKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karawatha, Owner at Karawatha Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2018

Thanks so much Rainer for taking the time out whilst still travelling and leaving us such an amazing review.
It's great to read that we could make you feel at home on your first stop of your Australian travels and share with you our passion and love for the McLaren Vale wine region.
Hope we can welcome you both back some time.
kind regards
Georg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews