We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stop over on the way to Adelaide”
other travellers have booked this property
Amble Wren Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amble Wren Bedroom
Amble Wren Lounge Amble Wren Rural Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Amble Wren Bedroom
Amble Wren Lounge
Amble Wren Rural Views
Amble Wren View from Deck
Amble Wren Bathroom
Amble Fern Bedroom
Amble Fern Deck
Amble Fern Lounge / Kitchen
Amble Over Lounge
Amble Over Kitchen
Amble Over Bedroom
Amble Over Bathroom
Amble Over Entrance and Garden
Amble Over Balcony View
Local Produce
Tea and Coffee
Wineries
Relaxing Stay
Nightcap
Rest and Relaxation
Amble INN (Mt Barker) Lounge
Amble INN (Mt Barker) Bedroom
Amble INN (Mt Barker) Bathroom
Amble INN (Mt Barker) Exterior
Amble Over Interior Entrance
Amble Over Kitchenette and Dining
Amble Over Lounge and Dining
Amble Over Rural Views
Amble Over Bedroom with Views
Amble Fern Entrance
Amble Fern Outdoor Area
Amble Fern Dinning
Amble Fern Kitchenette
Amble Wren Kitchenette
Amble Wren Bedroom with Views
Amble Wren Garden Views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills, Greater Adelaide, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jcoop64
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stop over on the way to Adelaide ”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Excellent accommodation. Wonderful host. Amazing views. Very comfortable bed. The best thing was being able to feed the birds. Nice and convenient to town centre. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you.It is a great time of year to be here with the gardens in full bloom and the birds coming in daily for a feed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz_D27
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“An excellent find just off the main atreet”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked this as it was cheap, close to the Main Street & had a kitchenette (not that we used it!) as well as having good reviews on Booking.
We stayed in Amble Over which is upstairs & can sleep four people. Check in was quick & easy as was check out.
The place was spacious & clean, the bed very comfortable. The heated towel rail, giant walk in robe & spa were all nice additional features we thoroughly enjoyed.
We enjoyed the proximity to the Main Street & appreciated the tips we received from Vanessa about local places to see & eat. We were not disappointed with any of her tips.
Although we only stayed for one night we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here & would recommend it to anyone. The great thing about Amble is that it is suitable for couples or families; there were other guests staying when we were there & we wouldn't have even known except for the cars parked in the carpark.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff A
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great room, great facilities, great people.”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Only stayed one night, but what a comfortable, welcoming accommodation. We stayed in the two bed accommodation. Very spacious and inviting. Separate toilet and bathroom. the bathroom had a spa and separate shower. The living area had a mini kitchenette and ample supplies (Biscuits, tea, coffee, milk, cereals, fresh loaf of bread, jams & marmalade). A large TV and DVD player. Lots of magazines (Current) to read. Very comfortable king beds in both rooms. We were also fortunate enough to take a tour with Roger (One of the owners) to Mclaren Vale wine region to sample some beautiful wine, beer and a fabulous lunch. Would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location and facilities
Liked least: We didn't stay there longer
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S G
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location, lovely provisions, good for extended family”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at the Amble Inn and Amble Fern.

This was a good choice for three couples with children and the grandparents (total: 10 adults, 2 tweens, 2 toddlers). We could have some space but all be close to each other.

I stayed at the Amble Inn. The building is quaint and in keeping with the mood of Hahndorf. The downstairs rooms are not huge, but good sized beds and squeezed portacots in also (and plenty of linen etc for the portacots which was great). Upstairs more spacious but the grandparents got that!

The breakfast provisions were tasty and abundant. Lots of local produce such as bacon, sausages, free range eggs, bread, baked beans, fresh squeezed juice, plunger coffee and even sweets and chocolates!

Some other things were a little unusual, missing some washing up items (noticeable in such a big group! but not a huge problem as there is a dishwasher), hot water a bit tricky to get right in the showers and there is only a communal laundry up at reception (and this information wasn't forthcoming so it took a bit of chasing..) . I think there were some renovations underway to have a nice deck area out the back to look out over a field with sheep & alpacas, which will be nice.

Amble's host, Roger, was very helpful, if a little omnipresent but I suppose you get that a bit with a B&B.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Roger the host
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Time out in a great location”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

a 3 day weekend in the Adelaide Hills based at Ambleside was the perfect location to park the car and walk/eat/drink through Hanhndorf then come home to a comfortable quiet space. Fersh and tasty breakfast supplied. A treat was to hire Roger to take us around for the day which he did at our pace and nothing was too much trouble.
Recommend to couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the site in the garden was private with own verandah and BBQ
Liked least: decor could be updated but was well co-ordinated
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing