We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere ”
Review of The Hahndorf Inn

The Hahndorf Inn
Ranked #9 of 43 Restaurants in Hahndorf
Price range: AU$5 - AU$40
Cuisines: German, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the picturesque Adelaide Hill's village of Hahndorf the Hahndorf Inn Hotel has a rich combination of history & hospitality.Built in 1863, the hotel has retained many of its original features in "picture postcard" style.Open 7 days and serving breakfast 8:30am to 10am and meals from 11am through to 9pm, The Hahndorf Inn is a great meeting place for friends.
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Had a great lunch next to the roaring fire last week at the Hahndorf Inn. Very authentic and delicious food. The beer on tap was great. Will definitely return when we next visit Hahndorf.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 1704Luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 609 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Had lunch here with my wife and 2 young boys. There is a dedicated kids area which has a couple of video games (not free) and some random toys. This area cold be done alot better but it was enough to keep our boys busy while we kept an eye in them from our table. This place has some great german food classics and some great beer to wash it down. We had a german sausage plate for 2, a variety of different types german sausage with potato salad and sauerkraut. Some if the other meals being ordered around us looked just as impressive. Make sure you go here on an empty stomach.
This places can get busy so i reservation is good otherwise it may only be a short wait for a table if busy.
Well recommended.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank JasJosJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2016

I haven't experienced such authentic German Food since eating my Grandmothers food as a child. I had a trio of worsts and I must say the German Potato Salad brought back so many memories. It was almost like I was caught in a time warp.
Great prices, great atmosphere. We sat outside as it was very crowded inside. The staff were busy but still attentive.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank afootofstring
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Had heard good reports but we must have caught them on a bad night. It was very warm & the restaurant area was swarming with flies that were very annoying. Staff weren't interested. We waited an interminable time for our food to arrive & when it did it was very disappointing. Not much flavour in any of the 4 meals, the portions were miserable for the prices & the staff didn't want to know.
Certainly won't be returning.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Hoozi51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I've been here a couple of times while driving through and love it. Could seriously settle in there for the day! I didn't eat this time, just had a couple of glasses of lovely red wine. However, I've eaten there before and the food is lovely. Real comfort food on a cold day. Not sure how it would be in the middle of summer but for a chilly, wintery day you can't beat this place!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dianebS1531FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Hahndorf Inn also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The Hahndorf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.