We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and drinks”
Review of The Hahndorf Inn

The Hahndorf Inn
Ranked #9 of 43 Restaurants in Hahndorf
Price range: AU$5 - AU$40
Cuisines: German, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the picturesque Adelaide Hill's village of Hahndorf the Hahndorf Inn Hotel has a rich combination of history & hospitality.Built in 1863, the hotel has retained many of its original features in "picture postcard" style.Open 7 days and serving breakfast 8:30am to 10am and meals from 11am through to 9pm, The Hahndorf Inn is a great meeting place for friends.
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Monday night, still did dinner for us at 8:50pm. Really friendly service and it has open fires.
Large meals, mostly German menu but a few specials. Schnitzel with mushroom sauce was amazing. Lots of beers and a good drinks menu. Sports bar and tab are on the other side of the bistro.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 626 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Food good and atmosphere great. I have been there lots of times and always found staff to be friendly and device good. They generally offer good pub style food with some German selections

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank sally p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2016

A quick weekend away, and a day in Hahndorf was amazing. Quaint little town, and for lunch... WOW. Hahndorf Inn great food, drink and atmosphere. Was perfect on a cold day. Nice and toasty inside. Plenty of food, and great service. Was a fantastic birthday treat.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sammee1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Few of my friends and I spent a day at the Barossa valley and we ended up at this quaint little town of Hahndorf around dinner time. This inn was so lovely and very authentic. We had the sausage and ribs and it truly lived up to its reputation of having the longest sausage ever.
The town itself was quite a revelation, our only regret was when we arrived at this town all the shops were close.
Looking forward to exploring it more someday when we can come back in the future.

Date of visit: June 2016
2  Thank mawalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Went here based on the good reviews, and received a lovely welcome from the very friendly and sincere Hannah, who squeezed us in on a busy Saturday night even though we didn't have a reservation.
A polite and smiley Alex then served us drinks, and then the meals came..
Only two vegetarian dishes (spätzle & arancini, so both loaded with gluten) on the entire menu, so veggies and chips ordered for our restricted diet person.

Chips were nasty if numerous, kids' meals were dry and unappetising with no salad or veggies, and had to ask for tomato sauce. Three children for whom we normally have to order extra chips and vegetables didn't finish what they were initially served, each wrinkling their nose in distaste when asked how their meal was (VERY unusual!).
'Vegetarian meal' (requested on the one plate but served as a plate of also very, very average chips and a separate bowl of zucchini, carrot and corn cob slices had the only redeeming feature food wise, in that it was fairly hot and fresh).
Both people who ordered lamb shanks said they were chewy and cold. Staff response to our complaint was very apologetic and concerned and confirmed that they'd already received multiple complaints about the lamb shanks dish (and they're still serving it?!!??!).

They encouraged us to take home a dessert tray as compensation for our terrible meal, and the kids certainly loved their accompanying milk shakes. While this was a lovely gesture, aside from the very nice Bavarian mousse, unfortunately it just reinforced the experience we'd had all night: sensational service; meals were terrible.
Arriving home to open a box of cheesecake that was described by three separate tasters as 'horrid' and very UNsticky date pudding that was dry as a bone (with very nice caramel cream sauce) did nothing to help us feel any better about the mains fare.
Being over charged with sides we didn't order didn't do anything to redeem our view of the Inn, but most of the front of house staff definitely deserve credit for their warmth, efficiency and friendly service.

Short version: great place for drinks, but unless they change things a lot, don't go if you're after a nice meal.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank HaDaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Hahndorf Inn also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The Hahndorf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.