We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right menu - right tone - right attitude” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquacaf Gourmet Cafe

Aquacaf Gourmet Cafe
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Goolwa
Price range: USD 8 - USD 23
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Aquacaf is a riverside cafe/restaurant offering breakfast, lunch, coffee and cakes in our licensed premises that includes, inside, covered outside and outside dining. We are open 5 days a week from Thursday to Monday (shut Tuesday and Wednesday outside of school holidays) and for dinner Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Right menu - right tone - right attitude”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Enjoyed a delicious lunch with family - attentive service - simple menu (barramundi) yet all well executed. Packed with holiday makers they managed really well.

Nice decor - everything had a sparkle and the place gleamed!

My daughter thought her calimari was a little mean on qty. but that was the only complaint on a great day

Will be back soon

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sydneycarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    57
    17
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
495 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great food in a relaxed location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

The quality of food available down that part of the world is pretty limited, not to mention the coffee, but the people at Aquacafe are doing a fantastic job of lifting the standards. Service was friendly and professional. Food was very well conceived and plated. Great wine list - had a very tasty chardonnay from Romney Park in the nearby Adelaide Hills - their 06 reserve.

I had the fish and chips which was garfish in a very light batter, excellent handcut chips, a fabulous side salad of celery, carrot, chickpeas and a side of aioli. Lyn had the mulloway in panko crumbs with a fabulous Vietnamese style salad and an asian variation on tartare using coriander as it's main flavour. Very generous serves. And the other specials sounded very tempting.

They also had lighter dishes such as baquettes which had some scrummy fillings.

Coffee was excellent - even more so after a week without on Kangaroo Island!

Well done!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn&MarkfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great fresh local food right on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Right on the water, family and (outside) pet friendly cafe style restaurant, in a quaint shack.

Small but delicious menu featuring fish and seafood, always fresh local produce, something for everyone, menu varies.

Friendly professional service and a place to linger over a relaxed lunch, enjoy the views and catch up with friends. Unpretentious casual dining, have anything from a coffee to a full meal.

One of our favourites we go there frequently and have never been disappointed. Advise bookings and check when opening as it is a well known spot. If you arrive at peak times without a booking it may be full.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank zizzle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Everyone was impressed by the food, the location and most of all the service

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Telelynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural SA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food but the wonderful service made my day.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We had originally dropped in at a winery for lunch but left when I realised that accommodating my group (of 4!!) was too much like hard work for them.
We headed to Cafe Bombora for lunch but as it was closed, decided to try here. It is lovely. I could not have had two more contrasting experiences of customer service. Aqua Cafe staff are professional, courteous, warm and welcoming. They were very busy but we were treated as if we were their only diners. The food was very good, although a little too much bite in the salad/garnish with my dish (squid).
This place is lovely and if you want great food and service in a coastal setting, then dine here. There's a lovely deck, great views, meals comprised of fresh, quality produce and fab service - what's not to like?!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adeladyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aquacaf Gourmet Cafe also viewed

Goolwa, South Australia
 
Goolwa, South Australia
 

Been to Aquacaf Gourmet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing