We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it will ever get, anywhere!”
Review of Arkaba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arkaba
Reviewed 22 April 2012

What to say about Arkaba Station? We came as guests, and 2 days later we left as friends of the house. Arkaba Station is a hotel (by lack of a more appropriate description) that does everything to make you feel welcome and at home. Hosts Cat and Brendan, chef Richard and guide Stuart are all equally helpful, going out of their way to do just that little bit extra for you.
Rooms (all without key, emphasizing the friends & family atmosphere) are spacious and impeccably furnished, with a beautiful bathroom and doors opening to a terrace or veranda. The open air lounge and dinner area presents an informal setting for drinks (all complementary) and dinner, being enjoyed around a single table with all guests and most of the staff. New Zealand chef Richard not only prepares wonderful and creative meals, but also makes sure you go on your early morning wildlife tour after a good breakfast ("just tell me what you would like to have") and with a basket of muffins and other goodies. Come back and lunch is ready to be served. Stuart made the tours instructive and pleasant, especially the sunset drive up McLeod Hill Lookout was awesome and never to be forgotten. Cat and Brendan shared their views about running Arkaba Station as a conservation and wildlife management area (next to its hospitality function). Rarely have we been in a hotel that, in its own unobtrusive way, did so much to make you feel at ease and relaxed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerJanWaalre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights after a 5 hr drive from Adelaide airport.  There are 5 rooms in the homestead surrounded by 60,000 acres of  wilderness and the first night was here all by myself! (the staff stayed in separate buildings), second night a couple from Holland arrived, and the third night we were joined by 5 more guests for a roaringly fun drive followed by dinner.   

The best way to describe the Arkaba experience is it really felt like staying at a friend's place.  Except the place came with 4 1/2 staff, incl a fantastic cook Richard (the Magician), he's been a chef for the past 36 years & was able to whip up delicious & good looking food (matched with all you can drink wine)-- despite the fact that we were in the outback and the refrigerated truck comes by only once a week (the lodge is trying to start its own greenhouse).  He even catered to my no carb diet with canapes & etc.       Adored Stuart the very sweet guide from Adelaide  that took us on some nice walks and drives both on & off property.  

I checked out four of the five rooms and thought I had the second best room. My room was the most spacious with a former bedroom converted into a gigantic bathroom, a narrow room like an indoor verandah that faced the trees and the parking lot,  a bedroom that had not much light that opened up to the library.  

The best room was next door with an entrance from the breakfast room that was smaller but alot more light/windows, a bathroom with a proper clawfoot bathtub.
  
The rooms were country rustic chic and all had outdoor seating.  

The weather was quite hot so the pool looked very inviting but I didn't have a chance to enjoy the pool.   Between the delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner were the walks and drives, naps & endless drinks.  

I was here pre a two day wedding celebration in McLaren Vale and really enjoyed myself.  Flinders Ranges is a great place for camping but with Arkaba Station around now, there's now a comfy way to see this interesting part of South Australia & I didn't even miss having wifi or phone access!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

What an experience!!! The homestead is magnificent, with a food and wine experience to match. I was amazed with the display of colours from the intense magenta sunsets to the vivid colours of the wildlife and the flora and fauna. I really enjoyed exploring with the guides, there is so much knowledge they are ready to share. The walk to the aboriginal site is a must, the story is so engaging and you can see thousands of years of history right in front of you. This is an absolute must if you want a 100% Australian experience with all the luxury included!! And I have to add.... I have never slept in a more comfortable bed, that alone is an indulgent experience.

Room Tip: Every room ooozes luxury but if you want a little added privacy request the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The Arkaba Homestead is uncompromising luxury in a picturesque setting nestled in the rugged Flinders Ranges. The staff attended to our every need, and Richard the chef deserves a special mention for his culinary expertise.

The guided tours through the rugged terrain were an experience not to be missed, and I doubt if there would be a better location to see the local wildlife especially the kangaroos, wallabies, emus and an abundance of parrots and raptors.

This location would be one of the best wilderness resorts in Australia.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OvationGX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Sunrises over spectacular, rugged scenery; sunsets, sumptious food and stargazing; kangaroos and joeys, daddy emus and chicks and wedge tail eagles as travel companions. And there's more!! From tiny wildflowers to majestic gums - the Australian bush at its most beautiful.

Arkaba Station is a magic place. Thanks to our guides Kat and Stuart and our chef, Richard, who pampered, nurtured, chauffeured and instructed us in the history, geography, biology (and several other 'ologies) of the station and region.

I recommend Arkaba Station to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Ranges National Park
14.4 km away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
432 reviews
2.1 km away
Wilpena Pound Resort
Wilpena Pound Resort
#1 of 1 in Flinders Ranges National Park
553 reviews
14.3 km away
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Edeowie Station
Edeowie Station
#8 of 9 in Hawker
8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Arkaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkaba

Address: Wilpena Road | Near Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Flinders Ranges National Park
Price Range: $1,820 - $1,961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkaba 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arkaba is a 60,000 acre private conservancy set in the heart of the Flinders Ranges. With just five rooms the Arkaba homestead is an oasis of comfort and style amidst a harsh and rugged landscape, where guests enjoy a taste of classic Australian country hospitality. The Flinders Ranges is in a class of its own for taking in the sheer size and scale of Australia's outback offering the chance to immerse oneself in 600 million years of geological history. Arkaba's conservation management program has seen a transformation in bird and mammal species on the property and offers guests a unique insight to the challenges that Australia faces in saving its unique and diverse natural heritage. Activities include bush walking, photography, safari drives, visiting ancient Aboriginal sites, or just soaking up the sights and sounds of the bush. Enjoy bush picnics underneath magnificent River Red gums, track native wildlife, learn the stories of early European settlement or take a scenic flight over Wilpena Pound and the salt pans of Lake Torrens. The real luxury at Arkaba comes in sharing this spectacular conservancy with just a handful of other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and Agoda so you can book your Arkaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkaba Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing