We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretensious and disapointing.”
Review of Flynn's Restaurant

Flynn's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 24
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Established 2002. We are a small restaurant serving quality fresh food made from local produce. We cook French /Italian cuisine. Family friendly. Children's meals are available. Fully licensed, we serve quality wines, beers and spirits. Wheelchair accessible.
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The menu displayed outside was different than the menu given inside, Pate was great, poor choices on the menu and the wine list was almost limited to $100+ wines. We were told that they were closing down for six weeks soon, but that is there problem not mine. I will be in no rush to return to this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank dmj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Hi, First of all, the menu outside is posted sometimes just before we open the doors at 6pm. It changes slightly from day to day. When you were served you made it known that you were disappointed that we did not have a Rose on our wine list and the manager, Sonia, informed you that we would be closing for a long break within a fortnight, hence our limited wine list. She also permitted you to pick up a bottle of Rose at the nearby bottle shop to drink with your meal with no service charge. You declined. You ordered a bottle of wine that cost $47 and there was an ample selection of wines at various price points on our wine list that evening. But it was apparent that you were unhappy with several things, including a meal which you deemed to be warm when, in fact, it came out of a hot pan after being cooked. You and you wife were offered free schnapps and you were asked at the counter if everything was fine to which you replied positively. Yet, here you are on Tripadvisor writing a scathing review.
Sir, the only things pretentious and disappointing here are your attitude and your grasp of the English language.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Flynn's Restaurant has a small but delicious menu. The night we visited, we enjoyed an entree of Cognac and Duck liver pate with a red onion pickle served with fresh bread. We both agreed this was the best pate we had ever eaten. Mains were also delicious- my partner had the Prawn Linguine while I had the Ox Cheeks in red wine. The beef was melt in your mouth and flavoursome. The service and attentiveness of the waitress was really impressive. Sadly we had no room to try the Creme Brûlée - maybe next visit.

2  Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Thank you for your generous review, we do maintain a small menu so as to ensure that everything on it is presented to our diners at the highest standard we can offer. Everything is made here including our delicious pate and the red onion pickle. Our ingredients are mostly sourced locally which is another reason for the small selection that we provide. We look forward to your next meal with us and the Crème Brûlée is waiting for you to try.
Kind regards, Liam Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This restaurant never fails to impress, the menu provides a small selection, but slow cooked and excellent. We both chose the duck as our main and were suitably rewarded as it simply melted in your mouth. The only downside, the wine list is a little overpriced.

1  Thank wal667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Thank you for your high praise of the quality of the food we serve here at Flynn's.
To address your comments on the pricing of our wine list, our wines are priced to make a profit as with ever increasing overheads and food costs, it is worth noting that I have not raised my prices on food since 2005. Customers may also note that there is on average a 12% difference in price between what we charge for excellent food and table service and what customers may pay at the counter of a public bar for a main meal usually consisting of processed food with virtually no cost of preparation. As with any business, Flynn's is profit driven and as such we make the effort to provide a high standard of food and beverage service and charge accordingly.

Best regards,
Liam Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

These people know food, and know their business. The food is crafted by someone who understands the flavours and has taken the time to make them work together. Good selection on the menu. Great service, a really pleasant evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SpontaneousTravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Thank you very much for your concise and thoughtful review. I'm very happy to have your feedback of high praise regarding my food. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon.

With best regards,
Liam Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Yungaburra is one of the nicest country towns in Queensland and it's good to see you can have a quality meal here. Generous servings at good value and friendly service - enjoyed a Pierogi for entree - first time I have had polish dumplings in many years and loved them.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Hello Ron,

Thank you again for another great review. We're very happy to know that you enjoyed the pierogi here at Flynn's. I prepare the filling and pastry and Sonia rolls and fills the pierogi. It's quite a labour intensive task and your high praise gives us great satisfaction and makes the effort of producing these little dumplings worthwhile indeed.

With best regards,
Liam Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flynn's Restaurant also viewed

 
Yungaburra, Queensland
Yungaburra, Queensland
 

Been to Flynn's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing