We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart restaurant, top service”
Review of Flynn's Restaurant

Flynn's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Yungaburra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 24
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Established 2002. We are a small restaurant serving quality fresh food made from local produce. We cook French /Italian cuisine. Family friendly. Children's meals are available. Fully licensed, we serve quality wines, beers and spirits. Wheelchair accessible.
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

This is a cosy French restaurant serving fine food. My wife had the duck and I had the fish, both of which came with tasty accompaniments - scalloped potato for me and a lentil bed for my wife. Green vegetables cost extra. We declined. Wine was good but price a bit up there, at $14 for a glass of pinot noir. The ambience is softly-lit lounge and our waitress was efficient and friendly. We finished by sharing a creme brulee which, to our surprise, was cool but beautifully flavoured. A great alternative to the plethora of fried food in much of the Atherton region.

2  Thank billw945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Hello Bill,

Thank you for your great review. We are happy to hear that you and your wife both enjoyed your meal here at Flynn's We put a lot of effort into providing our diners with great food and service.
Regarding the wine price per glass, I would like to take the opportunity to mention that we pour and serve a generous 187ml glass of wine as standard here, which is one quarter of a bottle. Most restaurants in the region serve a fifth of a bottle , so 20% less wine than we serve. To compare, in good Melbourne restaurants, the standard is now one sixth of bottle.
This is worth considering when comparing prices of glasses of wine served in different establishments.

With best regards,
Liam Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Our experience for dinner here was excellent. Highly recommended.
Good choice of wines and menu...
Don't miss it if you are in Yungaburra

2  Thank Manny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

HI Manny,

Thank you for taking the time to write us an great review and rating us so highly. We are always encouraged by our diners' praise and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

With best regards,
Liam Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We went to Flynn's twice during our stay in the area. Excellent both times. The food is really tasty home cooking and friendly efficient service. Recommend the duck live pate for entree and confit duck for mains.

2  Thank teevo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovation17, Owner at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Hello teevo123,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive review and excellent rating. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed what we offer here as we always do our best to provide you and all of our guests with great food and service. We look forward to having you both dine with us in the future.

With best regards,
Liam Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Don't be misguided by the ordinary building. This is a first class operation with owner chef delivering excellent food made with love and care. The London trained Polish waitress was amazing and never missed a beat looking after approx 40 people with food and drink. Hope she doesn't leave as would be impossible to replace. Dessert also excellent.

3  Thank Nearlyjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovecurlews, Manager at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Nearlyjt,

I would like to sincerely thank you for your review. You have made us feel very proud by letting us know that our efforts to provide you first-class service and excellent food have impressed you.

We are very aware of the fact that we our operation is rather unique - with only one outstanding chef/owner cooking up 3-course meals for 45 guests and me looking after the entire dining room. Pure madness ( and passion! ), I would call it. Having comprehensive food knowledge supported by years of cooking experience worldwide which are combined with detailed understanding of our customers expectations, have allowed us to fully focus on providing them a truly memorable and indistinguishable dining experience that many other restaurants struggle to create even with many more staff.

Once again, thank you for taking time to review us. It would be our utmost pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Sonia Tymecka
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

It's worth going here just to see how two people (Chef Liam and Manager Sonia) can do what other restaurants, with many more staff, often struggle with - provide quality food and service. The efficiency with which Sonia managed the floor on a busy night was impressive and it is clearly matched by Liam's skills in the kitchen as food was constantly flowing to tables and all meals looked delicious. Our three courses were outstanding and we thought the prices were reasonable for the quality of the food. It was our first trip to the Atherton Tablelands and we loved the area - Flynn's is another reason why we're excited at the thought of going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovecurlews, Manager at Flynn's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Scott F,

Thank you for your kind words. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had a memorable time. We work very hard each and every day to produce quality dishes using mainly locally-sourced ingredients and to deliver excellent and attentive service. Considering that there are only the two of us running a 45-seat operation, we would like to think that we do an outstanding job.

Your feedback reassures us that we are on the right track and we will continue our work hard.

Once again, thank you for your review. I look forward to your next visit at Flynn's Restaurant.

Yours sincerely,
Sonia Tymecka
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flynn's Restaurant also viewed

 
Yungaburra, Queensland
Yungaburra, Queensland
 

Been to Flynn's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing