We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious pub grub”
Review of Tattersalls Hotel

Tattersalls Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Quick Bites in Winton
Price range: AU$0 - AU$1,250
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tatts Hotel is located in the centre of Winton, we are a family friendly hotel that offers good old fashion service, value for family. We are open 7 days a week, Lunch & Dinner, cold beer, keno. we also have a 52 site van park
Reviewed 21 May 2024

Great feed atmosphere and staff. Family friendly for our 1 yr old. Thanks to the chef for giving her free fruit. Highly recommend

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2023

Great food, good atmosphere and the best barman in any pub I’ve been to in Australia in the last 30 odd years

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 342antoinettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2023

In the last quarter of 2022, my wife and I ventured with Outback Aussie Tours to Outback Queensland, staying at Longreach for three nights and Winton for two. In Winton our accommodation was the Boulder Opal Motor Inn.

On our first full day of touring in Winton we visited the renowned Waltzing Matilda Centre in Elderslie Street and afterwards we enjoyed a walk further up Elderslie Street to visit three historic Pubs – The ‘North Gregory’ and ‘The Australian’ as drink stops and finally for lunch at the historic Tattersalls Hotel on the Elderslie and Werna Street corner. All three hotels compliment each other so well aesthetically and form a lively historic hotel precinct.

Tattersalls Hotel is steeped in history. Outside the hotel on Elderslie Street’s footpath amongst the outdoor tables and chairs there is a permanent weatherproof history poster worth a read. It states that the hotel had its genesis as the Winton Hotel on the present site with construction commencing in 1882. In 1886 the Hotel changed its name to Tattersalls Hotel and this was its name for the next 94 years. In 1980 the hotel again changed its name, this time being called the Combo Hotel. This third name lasted only a brief period and the hotel reverted to Tattersalls Hotel, as it is known today. Locals affectionately refer to the place as “the Tatts". The poster goes on to explain that the present ground floor was built in 1885 and that a second storey, transported from the Charters Towers Goldfields to Winton, was added in 1914.

The hotel building still stands proudly today. Little has changed over the last century when comparing today’s hotel with the hotel depicted in an excellent photo displayed on the previously mentioned weatherproof history poster, which shows Tattersalls Hotel in 1922 after a flood. The history poster also includes a photo impression of the original “ground floor only” hotel before the second storey was added.

The hotel’s present appearance is greatly enhanced by its classic upstairs verandah with its neat railing, that skirts most of the hotel’s frontage. Below, on the footpath, below the verandah is a covered area with paved tiles underfoot. Here there are several tables and chairs to enjoy alfresco (open air) dining and there are canvas curtains to protect patrons from inclement weather or the harsh sun. An extra mostly uncovered alfresco dining area, spilling over from the covered outside dining area, allows the hotel to utilise the very wide footpath at its disposal. The name of the hotel “Tattersalls Hotel on Elderslie”, proudly listed as signage under the front verandah, is very eye catching with the printing of the “Tattersalls Hotel” part of the name made prominent in large Old German (fraktur) script. This gives the place its definite historical feel.

Our lunch catered for the entire bus group, at our own expense, was quite delightful. Some of the group members dined on the alfresco tables and chairs outside; however, my wife and I joined others in the hotel’s ground floor dining room. My wife enjoyed the golden chicken schnitzel, salad and chips and I had a splendid rump steak, medium rare, with chips and salad and Diane sauce. Both meals were very well cooked and presented. We concluded that this hotel offers very decent “Pub Grub”(slang for hotel food). We complimented our lunch with a nice cold beer. The wait staff members were very friendly and were very efficient. We purchased our drinks from the bar area which is enhanced with national flags of many World countries adorning its ceiling, and giving an impression of an elaborate oversized quilt. The dining room had a lovely atmosphere and appeared to be a ‘throw back’ from a previous era with its simple table settings – it was a very pleasant place to enjoy lunch with good company.

We were so glad our tour company chose “the Tatts” for our lunch on our first day in Winton. Our lunch turned out to be the ideal prelude for our afternoon touring that followed - a revisit to the North Gregory hearing the Waltzing Matilda Story; admiring the quirky Arno’s Wall; seeing the Winton Railway Station followed by the Musical Fence and finally learning about local prehistoric times at the renowned Age of Dinosaurs.

Date of visit: November 2022
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2023

Sat outdoors - was very busy (unusual apparently to be that busy - a special event in town). Excellent service - barperson actually remembered two of us form a quick drop in drink much earlier in the day - made us feel welcome. Food was also very good. Seemed to be better selection / range of food than alternatives in Winton. Would return

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2023

Good menu choices that cater for most tastes. Generous serves too big for a woman. If only they offered senior sized meals. The children’s menu was lacking in vegetables but the serving size was right.
Serving staff were friendly, helpful and nifty, clearing up tables proactively.
An Argentinian barman was exceedingly efficient, managing to fill schooners from two different taps an arm’s stretch away in opposite directions. Very impressive.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank B7066JIjennyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Tattersalls Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Tattersalls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.