We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
robbee

Dirty and old

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 July 2021
The room was dirty and damaged. Had to scrub the kitchen before we could use it. Dust and cobwebs abound. Pool filthy and not usable. Same with BBQ area. Property is for sale and needs a lot of work to bring it up to standard. If there was anywhere else available we would have moved.
Date of stay: July 2021
Room Tip: There are no good rooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$144
  • Priceline
    AU$144
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$138
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
1.1 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
Free parking
Restaurant
Double room
Booking.com
AU$181
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$168
  • Agoda.com
    AU$119
  • Hotels.com
    AU$149
1.0 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Boulder Opal Motor Inn at Winton.
Booking.com
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$175
  • Agoda.com
    AU$175
  • Expedia.com
1.1 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$70
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$70
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
  • Vio.com
1.2 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$165
  • Agoda.com
    AU$165
  • eDreams
    AU$165
1.2 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
Booking.com
AU$135
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$135
  • Agoda.com
    AU$135
  • Vio.com
1.0 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.2 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.9 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
2.8 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.3 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
Free parking
View more hotels in Winton
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
7
17
11
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
17
11
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2021

This property has the potential to be a good country town place to stay. Unfortunately it is unkempt with minimal attention to cleanliness. The rules outlined in the Welcome Information could offend without a sufficient sense of humour.The Winton area should not be missed but staying at Banjos should be a last resort.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ruthmA395WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2021

This place is seriously run down and in urgent need of demolishing. The room was absolutely filthy and hadn’t been cleaned in a very long time, the terrible smell of the room was over powering and gave me a headache. The Vinyl floor was stained, dirty and damaged, the small TV was located near the door instead of in front of the bed and it was covered in dust like everything else, not game to handle the remote controls. Mattress was heavily stained and worn out, the carpet and skirting boards were filthy and the walls had splatter marks all over them, dead insects littered the floor. I agree 100% with previous reviews, one star is too much.

Toilet was stained and missing a tile in front of it, the shower had bore water stain marks and hadn’t been properly cleaned in a long time. The kitchen bench was filthy and a spill of some sort had not been wiped cleaned, the cutlery was stained and needed cleaning, the fridge seals were damaged and covered in grime and the inside of the fridge was also dirty. The fan in the room looked like it was broken and was covered in dust, the room was fitted with a wall air conditioner however a quick check of the filter revealed that it was full of dust and hadn’t been cleaned in years, so I wasn’t game to use it (Just opening the Air-Con filter door dropped dirt all over the bed).

If you are planning on staying at Banjo's in Winton, make sure you bring your own sheets and pillows and it's a must to keep your socks on when walking on the vinyl floor, also recommend putting some Vicks vapor rub or something similar under your nose to help block out the smell of the room during your stay.

Room tip: Inspect room before you stay
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamliner17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2021

Owner very friendly and is happy to chat.
Cabins are quite large with every thing you would need during your stay but place was very dirty. The whole cabin could use a really good, (like end of lease) clean. Walls and doors very dirty, don't look like they have every been wiped. Furnishing curtains, sheets, lounge, carpet extra all stained. Only the areas cleaned every day like the toilet, taps, door handles were some what clean. Over priced I think considering the lack of care put into the place.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonjaamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2021

I concur wholeheartedly with « One star is too much’
The pillow slips and pillow protector had large, ugly yellow stains all over. I checked out the sheets and saw hair on top of the stained and rumpled bottom sheet which which gave every indication that the sheets had not been washed since the previous customer(s).
There were bugs under fitted sheet,
Throughout the cabin the walls were stained and spattered with splashes. The carpets were dirty and greasy to walk on barefoot. The insides of the cutlery drawer and pot cupboard were so dirty and unsanitary, that we had to use our own. The electric stove top was rusty and stained with food remains. .The toilet bowl also was dirty.
We had booked the place a few days in advance ( and then, accomodation was hard to find) but had forgotten to tell Stuart that we had a large trailer and that we needed power lead to the vehicle for our freezers. He helped us out with both but reminded us of our ‘failure’ to notify him over and over again. The hypocrisy being that his failure to provide even adequate sanitary conditions, far outweighed our minor forgetfulness. We had arrived quite late after an 800km trip , so looking for alternative accomodation was out of the question.
The fan had a loud clicking noise all night which, together with sleeping on dirty sheets, made sleep very disturbed.
In summary it’s ok for the decor to be a bit dated and even a bit shabby. But there is no excuse for lack of cleanliness and downright unsanitary conditions. Cleanliness costs nothing. I do not recommend staying here. Like others, if you do, ask to inspect the room and have plan B.

Room tip: Don’t give him your business
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emeldee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2020

i think we drew the short straw with the cabin we got. we had cabin 4 and i dont mind if it was tired and old but it was not clean in some parts. our sheets had brown stains on them and we asked the manger about them and he told us it was womens spray tans. he changed them and they were still stained but not as bad. i didnt sleep on them. i think it may have been the bore water but not sure. where the toaster and jug was it was dirty and not cleaned for a long while. the dust behind the tv looked like it had months of build up. inbetween the rubber on top of fridge was grit and grime. the whole place needs a deep clean. the curtains are dark red and so is the shower curtain which makes it more drab. the toilet had dust round the rim. the back wall was damaged so much that when you add pressure it moved. i think you could easily of put your hands through the wall. the smell of some air freshener nearly blew us away when we opened the door. the air con was abit noisy but didnt need it on at night thank goodness. we spent two nights there and thank goodness we were out all day. would never cook anything there so went out each night. would of gone somewhere else but nothing available. the sign at the office had ' no refund under any circumstances' our friends had the cabin beside us and it was abit better than ours - not as dirty. there seemed to be cabins that seemed more modern so i am not sure if they were the same as ours but we think we paid way too much for the accommodation we got. my advise would be to check out your cabin before you pay. also it is about 1km from town centre.

Room tip: check out your room before you pay
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDKbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews