We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
emeldee
Queensland, Australia

Dirtiest cabin ever stayed in. Owner superficially helpful.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Mar 2021
I concur wholeheartedly with « One star is too much’
The pillow slips and pillow protector had large, ugly yellow stains all over. I checked out the sheets and saw hair on top of the stained and rumpled bottom sheet which which gave every indication that the sheets had not been washed since the previous customer(s).
There were bugs under fitted sheet,
Throughout the cabin the walls were stained and spattered with splashes. The carpets were dirty and greasy to walk on barefoot. The insides of the cutlery drawer and pot cupboard were so dirty and unsanitary, that we had to use our own. The electric stove top was rusty and stained with food remains. .The toilet bowl also was dirty.
We had booked the place a few days in advance ( and then, accomodation was hard to find) but had forgotten to tell Stuart that we had a large trailer and that we needed power lead to the vehicle for our freezers. He helped us out with both but reminded us of our ‘failure’ to notify him over and over again. The hypocrisy being that his failure to provide even adequate sanitary conditions, far outweighed our minor forgetfulness. We had arrived quite late after an 800km trip , so looking for alternative accomodation was out of the question.
The fan had a loud clicking noise all night which, together with sleeping on dirty sheets, made sleep very disturbed.
In summary it’s ok for the decor to be a bit dated and even a bit shabby. But there is no excuse for lack of cleanliness and downright unsanitary conditions. Cleanliness costs nothing. I do not recommend staying here. Like others, if you do, ask to inspect the room and have plan B.
Date of stay: March 2021
Room Tip: Don’t give him your business
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$157
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
Free parking
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
    0.9 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    0.8 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
    Double room
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    1.0 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The Boulder Opal Motor Inn at Winton.
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    1.1 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    1.2 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    1.2 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    1.0 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    1.2 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    2.8 km from Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Winton
    Reviews (44)
    Filter reviews
    44 results
    Traveller rating
    7
    17
    11
    4
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    7
    17
    11
    4
    5
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    8 - 13 of 44 reviews
    Reviewed 30 October 2020

    i think we drew the short straw with the cabin we got. we had cabin 4 and i dont mind if it was tired and old but it was not clean in some parts. our sheets had brown stains on them and we asked the manger about them and he told us it was womens spray tans. he changed them and they were still stained but not as bad. i didnt sleep on them. i think it may have been the bore water but not sure. where the toaster and jug was it was dirty and not cleaned for a long while. the dust behind the tv looked like it had months of build up. inbetween the rubber on top of fridge was grit and grime. the whole place needs a deep clean. the curtains are dark red and so is the shower curtain which makes it more drab. the toilet had dust round the rim. the back wall was damaged so much that when you add pressure it moved. i think you could easily of put your hands through the wall. the smell of some air freshener nearly blew us away when we opened the door. the air con was abit noisy but didnt need it on at night thank goodness. we spent two nights there and thank goodness we were out all day. would never cook anything there so went out each night. would of gone somewhere else but nothing available. the sign at the office had ' no refund under any circumstances' our friends had the cabin beside us and it was abit better than ours - not as dirty. there seemed to be cabins that seemed more modern so i am not sure if they were the same as ours but we think we paid way too much for the accommodation we got. my advise would be to check out your cabin before you pay. also it is about 1km from town centre.

    Room tip: check out your room before you pay
    Date of stay: October 2020
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank MDKbrisbane
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 October 2020

    The room was nice and big and well appointed. The shower was hard to get wet from. The paint was pealing a little bit but that was acceptable. What was terrible was that by 3-4 in the afternoon the wall facing the west was very warm to the touch and the air-conditioner wasn't up to the job. There was no insulation on the western wall I sure of that and with a bit of extra insulation on the wall the room would have been much more comfortable. The staff were lovely.

    Room tip: don't get any room that has a wall facing the west or otherwise you will feel the heat despite the A/C
    Date of stay: October 2020
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Peter R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 August 2020

    Banjos shows its age, the rooms are large and very well kept. You can park right outside the door. A one night stay was very enjoyable with no noise. An easy walk into town for dinner or lunch. The proprietor was very helpful and kowledgeable. We had booked for two nights but decided on staying one night, a second night would have been just as enjoyable.

    Room tip: clean and neat
    Date of stay: August 2020
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank NR171
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 April 2019

    You can park right outside your door. Comfortable bed. It was a normal size ensuite, good aircon and a bar fridge. Guests have the use of the pool, BBQ and the laundry. Very close to everything so we thought the location was very good. Stuart the owner very friendly and helpful

    Date of stay: April 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank DelPerthWA
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 29 March 2019 via mobile

    We ended up stranded in Winton due to floods and spotted Banjos on the street.
    The man at reception was so welcoming and chatty and friendly (maybe the owner?) he had a great sense of humour.
    The room was so tidy and clean. The bed was by far one of the comfiest I’ve slept on even versus a lot of hotels!
    Presentation was immaculate.
    Cooking utensils were there also. Man at reception gave me complimentary milk to have a cuppa.

    Date of stay: March 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank ceadlynnm
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews