We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
review53
Sydney, Australia

Great except for the smell of the water

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 May 2024via mobile
We have stayed here before and found the stay quite pleasant and comfortable. The reason for the 3 star rating is the smell from the water in the toilet, shower and really we sure were pleased we had our own water as we would not want to drink this stuff. It was putrid in smell. Our room was quite large with a big king bed and table with good appointments with a kettle, microwave and toaster. Also there were plates, knives and forks. The reason to use this motel as a stop over is that is is very close to - 100 metres from the local hotel on the other side of the road which serves up really tasty food at reasonable prices and you can also enjoy a drink without the worry of driving. The bathroom is quite small and we needed to put the toilet seat down to rest our toiletry bags as there was only a really small shelf to put anything on. Internet was quite good.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Lock the door when you leave the room as they do not lock automatically. Parking is ideally...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Collins, Owner at Winton Outback Motel, responded to this review
Responded 2 May 2024
Hi. Thank you for the review. Yes all the water in the township of Winton is the same. As all of the town water comes from the Artesian Basin and has a high mineral content. We have done our best by putting in a cooling/airing tank to try and help.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$156
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Winton Outback Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
    0.4 km from Winton Outback Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    0.3 km from Winton Outback Motel
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    The Boulder Opal Motor Inn at Winton.
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    1.0 km from Winton Outback Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Double room
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    0.5 km from Winton Outback Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    1.2 km from Winton Outback Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    From sun up to sun down, every where you look offers a magical view across the plains of prime Channel Country.
    • Priceline
    1.9 km from Winton Outback Motel
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    0.3 km from Winton Outback Motel
    • Official Site
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    0.0 km from Winton Outback Motel
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    0.2 km from Winton Outback Motel
    View more hotels in Winton
    Reviews (375)
    Filter reviews
    375 results
    Traveller rating
    264
    83
    24
    1
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    264
    83
    24
    1
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews walking distance newer rooms in town surf club room was very clean and comfortable crockery and cutlery undercover parking tattersalls hotel two night stay place to stay would definitely stay here again the main street long drive across the road large room after hours serviced daily
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 375 reviews
    Reviewed 26 April 2024 via mobile

    I’ve recently started travelling for work in the Gulf and NT and Winton has become my overnight stop on the drive North. This is 100% due to the comfort of the Outback Motel… Kylie runs such a wonderful operation! The rooms are clean, safe and have everything you need. Kylie goes above and beyond to accommodate late arrivals and early departures and she’s such a friendly face to greet you after a long day driving. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone passing through.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank 135joannaf
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 April 2024

    Definitely the best accomodation in town - although this is a small country town a very long way from everywhere. Our room was comfortable and very clean with very good air-conditioning. It had all we needed with the addition of some plates and cutlery and good wine glasses.

    Undercover parking outside the door to our unit was a big positive as it was still quite warm during the day.

    The management and staff were all very friendly and full of helpful hints regarding things to see and do in Winton.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Robbo_from_Sydney
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 September 2023

    My wife and I stayed at the Winton Outback Motel for three nights in August. We found Steve and Leesa to be great hosts and their motel ticks all the boxes. The rooms are modern, exceptionally clean, well appointed and spacious. Location is also perfect, being just a few minutes easy stroll to Winton township including pubs, restaurants and cafes.
    We would definitely stay at the Winton Outback Motel next time we are in Winton.

    Date of stay: August 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Paradise54207064264
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steve Collins, Owner at Winton Outback Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

    Your lovely, kind words are very much appreciated thanks Paradise and let's hope we can host you again some time soon :)
    Regards, Steve and Leesa (Owner/Operators).

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 September 2023

    This is quite a large motel. Our room was in pristine condition. Staff were lovely and helpful. The room was of a high standard and spotlessly clean. We spent a pleasant couple of nights and managed a good night's sleep during our stay. No noise was transmitted from other units and road noise could not be heard - which is surprising as the motel not far from the main highway. Enjoyed our stay and we would stay here again. The Motel's regular visiting Brolga family were a pleasant surprise.

    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank AllanKearney
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steve Collins, Owner at Winton Outback Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2023

    Your incredibly positive comments are greatly appreciated Allan and the Brolgas are definitely a surprise (and popular) visit for our Guests to experience ! Glad to see you'd come back again - thank you :)
    Regards, Steve and Leesa (Owner/Operators).

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 September 2023

    The beds are clean and comfortable, the room was spacious and the bright orange towels added a cheerful touch. Steve and Leesa are amazing hosts who, despite their very busy festival week, even offered to help us to move rooms when illness meant we needed to spend an extra night in this friendly town. The short walk to the hotels meant I was able to bring home delicious meals every night and watching the brolgas dance for their food was an added bonus. Thank you!

    Date of stay: September 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Kim K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steve Collins, Owner at Winton Outback Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

    Hi and many thanks for not only choosing our Motel to stay at Kim, however your very kind words are sincerely appreciated and we trust your health is back to normal now.
    Regards, Steve and Leesa (Owner/Operators).

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews