We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
QldSusan123
Brisbane, Australia

Very comfortable stay in Winton

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 July 2023
Very nice apartments in Winton. Had everything we needed. Large room. Clean. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff. There is a guest laundry but only one washing machine and dryer for the whole motel which is used by the motel as well as for guests, so there can be a bit of a queue to do your washing. Also need $1 coins for the washing machine though reception can change money for you.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Collins, Owner at Winton Outback Motel, responded to this review
Responded 28 July 2023
Thank you Susan for a very thorough review and it's great to see you had a very comfortable stay.
Just to clarify re the washing machine/dryer - we have a commercial washing machine and dryer that we use for Motel-related large items whilst, at times, we use the Guest washer/dryer for smaller items.
A queue is much more rare, than common, so we do apologise if you were inconvenienced.
A 5 star review is always welcomed and we sincerely appreciate you supporting our business.
Regards, Steve and Leesa (Owner/Operators).

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$144
  • Hotels.com
    AU$140
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Winton Outback Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
    0.4 km from Winton Outback Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$70
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      AU$126
    • Vio.com
    0.3 km from Winton Outback Motel
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    The Boulder Opal Motor Inn at Winton.
    Go to your Happy Price
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Official Site
    • Vio.com
    1.0 km from Winton Outback Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      AU$142
    • Agoda.com
      AU$124
    • Priceline
    0.5 km from Winton Outback Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Vio.com
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    1.2 km from Winton Outback Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    1.9 km from Winton Outback Motel
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.3 km from Winton Outback Motel
    Go to your Happy Price
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Vio.com
    • Booking.com
    0.0 km from Winton Outback Motel
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    0.2 km from Winton Outback Motel
    View more hotels in Winton
    Reviews (375)
    Filter reviews
    375 results
    Traveller rating
    264
    83
    24
    1
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    264
    83
    24
    1
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews walking distance newer rooms in town surf club room was very clean and comfortable crockery and cutlery undercover parking tattersalls hotel two night stay place to stay would definitely stay here again the main street long drive across the road large room after hours serviced daily
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    21 - 26 of 375 reviews
    Reviewed 25 July 2023

    We had a lovely 3 night stay at Winton Outback Motel. The staff were so friendly & helpful. Debbie gave us a great recommendation on where to get a delicious meal at the Winton Hotel. The room was very clean & had everything you could want. Easy walking distance to everything in town. Will definately stay again next time in Winton.

    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank lyarrd
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steve Collins, Owner at Winton Outback Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2023

    Thank you for your very kind words regarding our fantastic Relief Mgr, Debbie, along with our hard working housekeeping staff thanks Lyarrd !
    Reading that you'll be a repeat Guest is very reassuring that we're all on the right track - thank you :)
    Regards, Steve and Leesa (Owner/Operators).

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 July 2023

    We stayed 3 nights at the Outback Motel and would highly recommend it. The room was very comfortable and in a great location close to the shops, hotels and attractions but was very quiet at night. The owners & staff were very helpful and advice & information given when we booked encouraged us to prebook our Dinosaur Experiences & Red Dirt Tours. This was great advice!

    Date of stay: July 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 529DavidB529
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steve Collins, Owner at Winton Outback Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2023

    Thank you David for your very kind works and for choosing our Motel to stay at.
    We always suggest 2-3 nights is the ideal time period to spend in Winton, so you were spot on with your number of nights :)
    Regards, Steve and Leesa (Owner/Operators).

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 July 2023

    We were in Winton for a family wedding and several groups of family stayed at the outback motel. It was clean and tidy and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. It is so well located and we could walk to everywhere that we wanted to go. We would recommend it!

    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank W6401SXjannek
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steve Collins, Owner at Winton Outback Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

    It was our pleasure hosting your family Janne and it was great to hear everything went well with the wedding, plus your stay here.
    Thank you for recommending others to come here too, that's very much appreciated :)
    Regards, Steve and Leesa (Owner/Operators).

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 July 2023

    Thanks for a great stay at the Winton Outback motel. The room was spotlessly clean and well equipped with a small fridge, microwave, kettle, kitchen utensils and revere cycle air conditioner. The motel was very close to town (only a 200 metre walk away) but nice and quiet at night. The motel proprietors were extremely helpful and friendly. We did not have our own car, but we were able to easily get to Winton from Longreach and back using the Queensland rail railbus and Greyhounded services. Red Dirt Tours took us on some excellent day trips. We spend four days in Winton and found that with tours each day there was plenty to do and enjoy. Thank-you for a lovely holiday.

    Date of stay: July 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank christineoz2016
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steve Collins, Owner at Winton Outback Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

    This is excellent to read Christine and thank you so much for your very kind words :)
    What a truly positive experience you had in our great little town and here's hoping we can see you back in Winton some time soon.
    Regards, Steve and Leesa (Owner/Operators).

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 July 2023

    Absolutely outstanding on every level. I’ve travelled extensively across the world and have never had the outstanding level of service that I got at the Outback Motel. The location is superb. The rooms are impeccable. The owners, truly beautiful people who are efficient, friendly, helpful, kind, caring…I could go on for days!! Steve, you are quite possibly one of the most wonderful people that we have met! You went above and beyond for myself and my little ones. The 7yo thinks you are amazing and ‘the nicest guy ever’.
    My children didn’t want to leave and the 5yo said he wanted to live here.
    Nothing was a hassle for Steve or his wife. I needed to do washing but we were heading out on a tour, no problem! Steve made sure our washing not only got done, but delivered it to our room!
    We also loved watching the brolgas of a morning having their breakfast.
    Honestly, I would drive the 2000km back to Winton any day as we feel ‘part of the family’ after our two stays at the Outback.
    From the bottom of our hearts, thank you, thank you and thank you. Your stunning motel was perfect for us but it was you that made our stay so incredibly memorable.
    We will be back!!!

    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Beeline81
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steve Collins, Owner at Winton Outback Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

    Holy dooly Belinda, what a ripper ! It was our absolute pleasure to have you and your family stay with us on the multiple occasions and it was great that we were able to get you in at such a busy time in Winton.
    Your fantastic review is truly appreciated and it's not difficult to lend a hand to people who deserve it, as you did.
    Wishing you all the best and we look forward to seeing you and your children again some time soon :)
    Regards, Steve and Leesa (Owner/Operators).

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews