We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe, not the Fence!”

The Musical Fence Cafe
Ranked #4 of 5 Quick Bites in Winton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 20 September 2020

Okay, let's clear up one thing: The Musical Fence Cafe is no where near the Musical Fence attraction. The cafe is in Elderslie Street and the MF Attraction is in Colston Road. Reviewers need to stop confusing the two. The Cafe is attached to the North Gregory Hotel in the main street of town.

The Cafe is very handy, always seems to be open and my husband had breakfast here both mornings. We also had lunch here one day because, for some strange reason, the Bakery over the road closes at 1pm.

The burger I had for lunch was generously proportioned and freshly made, although rather bland; lacking flavour. My husband had the sandwiches which were pre-made in the counter display.

The Cafe was clean and nicely presented and tables were well spaced in accordance with Covid restrictions. Seems to be a popular place with locals and travellers alike. Good menu selection and reasonable prices. I've rated the Cafe as "very good" because it is in Winton; the Cafe is on a par with those in larger towns/cities.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 14BUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

winton- a calming and beautiful oasis in the great beyond

friendly staff, relaxing environment, competent chef. we’ll be back as arnie always says

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank kennys_flying_circus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2020 via mobile

We chose to eat here both mornings we were in Winton. You cannot beat it. The wonderful welcome and genuine warmth from all staff was so delightful. The choice on the menu was varied, delicious and presentation and cleanliness was top notch.

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank shelleya439
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

My kids 5 & 9 loved the musical fence. They had a ball bashing and beating on the instruments. Great idea and great fun. Hubby loved it too.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank spirose73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2020

We're not in to pub food, so the three pubs on offer didn't appeal. But this cafe offered delightful chicken-and-lettuce sandwiches, burgers of all kinds, modest hot foods and tea/coffee/soft drink/milk shakes plus a truly tantalising selection from their patisserie. And astonishingly, all reasonably priced. The staff were pleasant, efficient and welcoming, as was our meal!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank mccorquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NGHWinton4735, General Manager at The Musical Fence Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2020

Hello McCorquinn
Thank you for your delightful review on our Muscal Fence Cafe which is the cafe branch of burgeoning Grand 'ol Lady with is the North Gregory Hotel. Famous for the Birthplace of Waltzing Matilda by Banjo Paterson. The cafe is prominently displayed in the main street as you know as as you said offers a great variety of food for everyone. Our staff are our asset and we are glad that you were welcomed so pleasantly . Enjoy your forward journey and we hope to see you back here some time again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Musical Fence Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Musical Fence Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.