We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Charmaine M
Brisbane, Australia

Never again. Severely ripped off.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Nov 2021via mobile
Hubby and I stayed in one of the cottages. 2 other couples stayed in 2 other cottages. We all seemed to have problems with our cottages, and were paid up to stay for 3 nights. We all left after only staying 2 nights.
* Used soap in the shower.
* 1 x roll of the thinnest toilet paper I've ever seen, for a 3 night stay in a 2 bedroom cottage that can hold 4 people.
* Gas oven would not light.
* Lounge is extremely uncomfortable with wood sheeting under the seat cushions.
* No bedside lamps.
* Layer of dust everywhere in the lounge so thick, you could write in it.
* Horrible mildew smell inside kitchen cupboards, making us not want to use things from cupboards.
* Extremely ridiculously small amount of utensils, crockery, cooking items in kitchen.
We will never stay there again, or recommend this accommodation.
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome relief after a hot day on the road. A lovely welcome to our accommodation as well. Thank you Mark. BTW. This place is spotless and clearly very clean.
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Villa 5 - 2 Bedroom - King & Queen
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free parking
  • Vio.com
1.8 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
2.1 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.8 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free parking
Deluxe King Room
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Stanthorpe
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
69
58
16
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
69
58
16
14
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2021 via mobile

This is the dirtiest and outdated accommodation i have stayed. Cottages are not cheap but it wasn’t even worth the price. Rooms has weird old smells. The carpet has visible stain on it. Couches has hairs and white stains. Dust and rust everywhere. No electric heater. Some electric blanket are not working. But the dirty pillowcases are the worst. And the mould on shower curtain is disgusting. This place needs some serious deep cleaning if not massive renovations.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sjefweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2021 via mobile

Comfy and warm! Our room was toasty and warm on arrival. We had electric blankets- the temp got down to 4 degrees! Clean and tidy. A bit dated but a solid 4 star hotel. Quiet area with no traffic noise.
Would stay again.
Staff helpful and friendly.

Room tip: Nice and quiet if you are travelling and need a bed for the night
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Scenic66857552193
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2021

Stayed here for a couple of nights and found this place to be very outdated and in great need of a face lift, on arrival found RAT BAIT sprinkled near the front door, lucky we found this before our fur babies did! confronted the owner to give him the benefit of the doubt but he did not seem to have a problem with this. If I had no other option but to stay here again, I would rather stay at home, not worth it.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2021

Stayed here for one night on our road trip. Although the room was old it was clean and tidy. The reception check in was easy with friendly owner.
We were allocated room 21 which had a disabled shower in it with a large shower curtain around it. Certainly not what I had expected as they had other rooms in the same location not like this.
We booked a standard Double room. The room we had had a comfy Queen Sized Bed and 2 single beds.
In the room was Crockery/Cutlery and tea/coffee A/C and a microwave.
The left hand side of the Queen bed had no light and the lighting overall needed upgrading.
Partial undercover parking was available directly outside the unit.
The RSL club was just down the road for Dinner (great Food) and there was a lovely walk across the road by the river.
I think that this motel needs a makeover which could have been done last year when places were closed off due to covid.
Would I stay again if in the area, yes, but ask for a room with a proper shower enclosure.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greytravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2021

Last minute booking as all of Tenterfield was booked out (go figure) and was charged $85, compared to everything else which was pretty well twice the price (and booked out). Rooms were plain but clean with comfortable (single) beds. Plenty of blankets, the reverse cycle worked well and the bathroom was excellent - no mould anywhere and heaps of hot water for a shower.
And the owners were friendly and recommended the local RSL (just around the corner) for a feed - which was excellent. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey458
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews