We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
greytravellerSydney
Sydney, Australia

Basic Motel in a country location.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 June 2021
Stayed here for one night on our road trip. Although the room was old it was clean and tidy. The reception check in was easy with friendly owner.
We were allocated room 21 which had a disabled shower in it with a large shower curtain around it. Certainly not what I had expected as they had other rooms in the same location not like this.
We booked a standard Double room. The room we had had a comfy Queen Sized Bed and 2 single beds.
In the room was Crockery/Cutlery and tea/coffee A/C and a microwave.
The left hand side of the Queen bed had no light and the lighting overall needed upgrading.
Partial undercover parking was available directly outside the unit.
The RSL club was just down the road for Dinner (great Food) and there was a lovely walk across the road by the river.
I think that this motel needs a makeover which could have been done last year when places were closed off due to covid.
Would I stay again if in the area, yes, but ask for a room with a proper shower enclosure.
Date of stay: May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome relief after a hot day on the road. A lovely welcome to our accommodation as well. Thank you Mark. BTW. This place is spotless and clearly very clean.
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Villa 5 - 2 Bedroom - King & Queen
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free parking
  • Vio.com
1.8 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
2.1 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
2.8 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free parking
Deluxe King Room
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.8 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
2.0 km from Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Stanthorpe
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
69
58
16
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
69
58
16
14
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2021

Last minute booking as all of Tenterfield was booked out (go figure) and was charged $85, compared to everything else which was pretty well twice the price (and booked out). Rooms were plain but clean with comfortable (single) beds. Plenty of blankets, the reverse cycle worked well and the bathroom was excellent - no mould anywhere and heaps of hot water for a shower.
And the owners were friendly and recommended the local RSL (just around the corner) for a feed - which was excellent. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey458
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2021

We have no complaint about the cleanliness of this property, but it is in need of a complete makeover.
The rooms have very basic furnishings and a comfortable bed.
As a place for weary traveler to bed down for a night, it fits the bill, but nothing more.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDWam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2021

We were traveling to the Granite Belt, our booked accommodation fell through (another Story). As dusk was upon us , we needed to find alternative accommodation that would accepts pets (we have a Kelpie). We rang and reserved a Cottage. On arrival it was dark, it was cold, we were glad to have found somewhere. Cottage 12 was tiled in the Lounge Kitchen dining , No Fire place , but a gas heater. we had to ask for assistance to start the heater. The heater took the chill of the air ans allowed us to take in what we had just paid $530,00 for 3 nights .
Somewhat disappointing !

No Wine Glasses - No Teaspoons , and Old lounge suite covered in bedspreads.
a gas oven that did not work properly.

Day 2 - we found out that the toaster did not work. I noted that there was no 'Test n Tag' attached to the electrical appliances !!
We took the toaster to the office , we were told that we could have a new one when we returned from our day trip.
when we returned , again at dusk, we were handed the Old Broken Toaster - I was too tired to annoyed to respond.

Bates Motel Aint in it !

3 Things - The shower is Hot n Strong - the Bed was comfortable - we were able to have our dog in the room with us .

This place may once have been nice, it has potential, but it is weary and decaying.
Do Not take notice of the photos on display

Avoid it if you can.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TinDingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2021

Our motel room was musty and dusty. The bathroom was small and the hot water was intermittent. The photos on Booking.com were not illustrative of the grounds which are run down. Overall, it was a bit of a 70s experience in terms of decor, inclusions, reception and the overall vibe. The location is convenient if you're looking for a highway stop.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 931helenl931
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2020

We enjoyed our stay in Stanthorpe where accommodation was in strong demand. We stayed at Murray Gardens Motel and it had seen better days. Check in was perfunctory and the rate they mentioned was more than we had been quoted on line but that was altered when we showed an email as proof. The room was OK if you were planning on spending your time elsewhere, for example, there was a piano stool for a coffee table that you couldn't rest anything on, glasses that didn't match and the bathroom was rusty and dusty. The bed and linen however was really comfortable although only one electric blanket worked. The motel is well located both to the town and vineyards. We enjoyed our stay in Stanthorpe in any case and had a good time at Murray Gardens but next time will book several months in advance so that we can stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RossY415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews