We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
71
62
16
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
62
16
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double room business trip one night firm bed room door recent visit large bathroom reception staff electric blankets on the beds night stay family run we've stayed yogurt family and friends great place to stay the main street steakhouse
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with my partner during a recent visit to see family and friends. Room was small and very basic, but probably ok if you are just after a bed for the night. It was poorly cleaned though - the bathroom floor had dirty marks, there was hair in the shower from previous guest/s, carpet had stains and didn’t appear to be even vacuumed properly. Could have also done with electric blankets given Stanthorpe’s reputation as the coldest town in Queensland, and that we visited at the coldest time of the year. Have stayed in better places for the money.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lenno999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon C, Owner at High Street Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Hi lenno999, Thank-you for taking the time to review our property. It is unusual to get this kind of feedback on the cleanliness of our rooms. We will certainly speak to our housekeeping staff and ensure these type of things are not overlooked.

There are a couple of rooms where the carpets are in the process of being replaced due to these unusual stains that came up when we last steam cleaned the carpet. We have had the stains steam cleaned several times to try and rectify the matter however for some reason they are now getting darker. We are now in the process of replacing the whole carpet and this should hopefully be fixed in a matter of weeks. We would like to say they are the cleanest stains, it is, unfortunately, one of those things that we are trying to get rectified as quickly as possible.

In regards to the electric blankets, unfortunately, we had 3 separate blankets leave burn marks in the beds two weeks ago and the only thing that stopped them from burning down the motel was the guests who smelt the burning smell and switched them off. We have therefore decided to remove all electric blankets from our property due to safety. We also have the fire authorities investigating as to whether this particular electric blanket needs to be recalled Australia Wide. There is however portable heaters in each room and reverse cycle air-con to ensure the rooms are warm. If you are not comfortable, we ask guests to call us so we can ensure the settings are suitable on the air-con as it is one of the coldest winters we have had in a while.

We very much care about our clients and try to ensure you walk away happy with your stay. If there is ever any issues, please speak to us so we can look into the matter and make your stay more comfortable while you are here. This way we can make sure you enjoy your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Very comfy beds, thick towels and noise levels fairly quiet for on the main road. Great restaurant with fire, games for kids always a bonus. Would stay again if overnighting. Stayed in family room which can accomodate 5 with a push if you add a rollaway.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank larissameyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Room was very small photos on the Internet make it look a lot bigger, lots of noise from outside, but clean. Usually stay at a B& B here but it was booked out.
Some parks are a bit squishy. Reception were lovely.has 2 steps up into room no handrail which I did not like.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sandrarO2955BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Typical country motor inn that had one bathroom and two bedrooms. Clean and the beds were pretty good. Not much storage space. Good for a one night stay because it was very small. Wasn’t very cheap but not expensive for what you got. Not near the centre of town so you had to drive otherwise a lengthy walk.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Very small room, smallest motel room I have ever stayed in. Bed was very uncomfortable. You could feel the springs through the mattress. Pillows were too soft.. flat almost. Room so small tea, coffee, kettle etc was in the robe. Would spend the extra money and go to a cottage next time.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Loretta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon C, Owner at High Street Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hi Loretta, I am unsure which room you stayed in as we never knew of your complaint until now. I am assuming a double room. These are our smallest rooms with just a double size bed. They are recently renovated with new beds, and air-conditioners. Ideal for those who are happy with a bed and mod cons for just one night and want a good price. For those wanting a bit more space, we recommend our family rooms which have a microwave, all your crockery and cutlery as well as a table and chairs. If you ever have an issue, feel free to let us know when you arrive and we can see what upgrades or alternatives we can offer, so you can have a more enjoyable stay. Warm Regards, Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews