We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
44
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pam john port douglas nearby trees first floor delightful hosts short drive far north queensland breakfast each morning maras
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

As someone who's been to Port Douglas a few times, I was looking for something a little more "out of the limelight" as a relaxing break for us both. After much searching, I came across Marae and, not being at all familiar with the location, made an booking largely based on the reviews. And we were not disappointed. Pam and John are delightful hosts and made us both feel completely at ease and welcome into their amazing home.

The property is located 10 mins drive from Port Douglas and 5 mins from Mossman. The map reference on TripAdvisor is a little incorrect - the property is the first on the left up Chook's Ridge and sits on a hill overlooking the surrounding valley surrounded by trees.

Two rooms are available. The first sits on the ground level overlooking the pool whilst the 2nd is on the main first floor area (Pam & John live on the 2nd floor). We had the 2nd room - it was large and spacious with a huge king bed (always a godsend) covered in a large mosquito net. The room has airconditioning (although wasn't needed) and a fan. All windows open outwards for great circulation and give the room an outside feel. The only let down was that none are screened - which is find in winter but might be an issue in summer (we had a couple of mozzies invade even in October).

Breakfast is taken on the shaded rear overlooking the escarpment above Mossman Gorge - it's a truly breathtaking way to start the day - and the food was amazing (thanks John)!

Getting to and from Port or Mossman was no problem - a short drive to both. Port is probably a little distant because you have to endure the main drag in (more like 15 mins) but doable. The only concern we had was that, because of the distance, we couldn't go into town and have drink - and as we were in town to celebrate a birthday, it did limit our options. Alas, Pam & John choose not to offer dinner and with no cooking facilities (e.g. BBQ), your only option is to head into Port or Mossman. Actually, I lie - had we thought it out, we could've easily ordered takeaway in Mossman and returned with it still warm to eat at Marae - so perhaps a little planning would overcome that one!

Overall our stay at Marae was perfect. We really had a relaxing time and ended up having a wonderful trip away - largely in part thanks to the hospitality of Pam and John.

We will be returning!!!

PS - Check out Pam's photos on the way in
PPS - If you want a place to cool off, don't bother with Mossman Gorge (it'll be packed with tourists trying to kill themselves in the rapids), ask Pam or John if the nearby creek is running. It's a short walk (15mins) or even quicker drive (2 mins) on the back road to Mossman. It's well shaded and should have delightfully cool water coming down from the mountains.

Room tip: The lower room overlooking the pool is certainly more private.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Beautiful natural setting - we cooled off in the pool outside our room watched by kookaburras in the nearby trees and loved Waking to the dawn chorus of local birds. Great access to Mossman Gorge and other attractions. A real far North Queensland experience with a gekko or two to prove it! Pam and John are excellent hosts and serve a terrific al fresco breakfast.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank marionwT9933AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here. Pam and John are wonderful people. Really hospitable, nice and enthusiastic company.
We enjoyed drinking a glass of wine with them at the end of the day to talk about our adventures.
We stayed in the garden room. The room was big, clean, really nice bed, wonderful view on the garden. The location is also perfect. 15 minutes from Port Douglas and about 8 minutes from Mossman. The breakfast in the morning was amazing! We even got a breakfast desert! Really jummy pancakes or a warm waffle.
We would definately recommend this B&B to everyone!!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manouk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Pam and John are very friendly, easy going people. They help you with all questions. Every morning a very good and different breakfast. They are really interested in your stories and experience and like drinking some wine or tea with you.
The place is clean, very comfortable and there is a nice swimmingpool.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid en Ineke a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

During our Queensland trip we spent three wonderful nights in the beautiful Marae B&B. Our great and very friendly hosts Pam and John have spoiled us not only around the clock, but we were also able to spend unforgettable evenings together with music, stories and wine.
Marae B&B is an ideal location to the area around Port Douglas to explore : interesting tours with local aboriginal guides , exciting day trips / hikes through the rainforest , excursions to the nationalparks in the area ( Daintree , Mossmann Gorge , Cape Tribulation ) or tours to the Great Barrier Reef.
A dream is the wonderful breakfast in several courses every morning : a wide range of tropical fruits , fresh juices , yogurt , serials , breadbasket , homemade marmelade and especially daily changing hot dishes. Every breakfast was a surprise in itself. So lovingly prepared feast for the eyes !!!
And from the breakfastdeck you can enjoy magnificent views to Mossmann Gorge.
Pam and John can help with everyday leisure activities and have in this regard a lot of helpful tips and contact.
The garden room is beautiful and very comfortable , especially the own pool including garden invites you to relax daily and lounging on a pool.
Unfortunately we had only three days available , we would like to be to have stayed longer, but then we are planning a return in 2018 on the occasion of our next trip to australia :-) .
We felt at home with you ! A greater praise can not be done !!!
Many thanks for everything .
Paul & Holger ; Frankfurt / Germany

Room tip: Garden room with own Rock pool and garden for relaxing
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LeviFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews