We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CChase
Southern Queensland, Australia

Too noisy to stay there in November 2018

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Nov 2018
Booked this place for a family annual holiday to Cotton Tree, and it's definitely the worst place we have stayed so far - this is mainly due to the noise generated by building works going on next door. We ended up leaving a day early. I wrote the following in an email to the managers:

1. There is nothing on your booking page to warn people of the building works going on next door, and across the road at the park. If you go to the Special Deals page, you have a note saying that there is “intermittent noise during business hours” – this is an absolute lie. The noise is constant and starts at 6.30am.
2. The drain in the main shower is not working properly – you end up standing in about an inch of water while showering. This could be a hazard when climbing out at the end, as it takes a while to drain.
3. The air conditioning is loud and does not effectively cool either bedroom.
4. We saw cockroaches in the kitchen on the first night after turning the light off for bed – we hadn’t eaten in the apartment yet and had no rubbish.

I should have also added - the fan in the second bedroom was too loud to put on at night as well. The response from the manager about the air conditioning was that we put it too high and just needed to turn it down, but it was cold out in the living room, so that wouldn't have worked.

They also said they would have moved us to another room if we'd complained about the noise- but why not just put us in an appropriate room to start with if there was one available? We know they cannot control the noise from the building works - we just wanted some honesty as if we'd known we never would have booked there.

Also, to note - the pool area was very average, the gym is really just a typical, older, home gym set up, and our 'river view' is very much obscured by trees in the park across the road.

Really disappointed about my holiday, but also in the manager's response to my email. Live and learn, I guess.
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SpaceHolidayApts, Manager at Space Holiday Apartments, responded to this review
Responded 29 Nov 2018
As we said to you in response to your email - We were very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, but why didn't you come and talk to us about your concerns while you were here? Not once did you approach one of our staff members.

We do state on our website when you book that there is construction next door. This is why we offer such a good discount. Also the whole complex had just had it's quarterly pest spray, so if there was an issue with a cockroach, once again you should of said something. When we checked the aircon you had it on 24. With these hot and humid days it needed to be on a lower temperature.

You booked that apartment on our website, that is why we didn't put you in another apartment to start with. But if you had come and spoken to us, we would of offered you a chance to move to another.

Once again, as we said in our response to your email, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, but it is very hard to fix things, when nothing is said.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$342
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$342
0.3 km from Space Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Ocean View Apartment
Tripadvisor
AU$409
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Space Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Pool
Two Bedroom Deluxe Apartment
Tripadvisor
AU$159
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Space Holiday Apartments
Free parking
HIExpress.com
AU$184
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Space Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Pool
The Sebel
AU$305
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$305
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Space Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$281
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from Space Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
one of the 2 pools at Sundeck Gardens
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$449
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from Space Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Pool
Solar heated pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$867
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Space Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Pool
All apartments have North-east facing balconies
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$263
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Space Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$186
  • Algotels
3.2 km from Space Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Maroochydore
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
56
24
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
56
24
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spacious apartment rsl river shops furniture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2018

The complex is well located and extremely clean, great Riverview with a consistent cooling breeze. Secure onsite parking provided without further cost was great and easily accessed via either of the two lifts in the building.
Unfortunately, our 2 bedroom Riverview apartment was not 167m2 as advertised, probably about half the size and with no ensuite. The bathroom had a shower over the bath which was not ideal. I called the management once we had checked in and was told this was the last room available so no chance of swapping to the room size and layout that we had booked and were excited to be staying in. To avoid disappointment its probably worth calling the onsite management to check on the room prior to committing to the booking.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

This was our 4th visit to Space and again it was marvelous. The apartment was spotless and lovely views to the water. Very relaxing sitting on the balcony having breakfast or lunch and the sunset one afternoon was beautiful.

Already booked our next stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lewis22cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SpaceHolidayApts, Front Office Manager at Space Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hi Cheryl, so glad you enjoyed your stay again and we look forward to seeing you both and your family in January.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

We had a really comfortable and enjoyable 10 days at Space Holiday Apartments. The apartment was spacious and well appointed, with everything we needed. Lots of sliding doors onto balconies with one large balcony where we sat in the sun to eat breakfast. We arrived on a Sunday evening after reception was closed, but we had very clear instructions for getting our keys and for the car park. The bed was comfortable and everything very clean. There is a bookcase with a small collection of books, with more books and movies available in reception. Walking distance to cafes, beach, Cotton Tree village and the supermarket. The walk to Mooloolaba along the beach is about 4 kms and a very pleasant stroll.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bejone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Great room and so close to the park and inlet for the young grandchildren to enjoy.
Apartment was very spacious and clean and it was no trouble for the managers to provide a portacot for our youngest granddaughter. Easy walking distance to the local shops and restaurants very close.
This was our third stay at Space and will definitely be booking again.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 123tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Everything about our stay was so enjoyable and easy. The couple who manage the property were so accommodating and generous. They really went above and beyond. I cannot thank them enough for such an enjoyable stay. The rooms were really clean and modern and the appliances were all top of the range. Lovely new furnishings and decor were in our apartment. The complex is close to everything and you won't need to use your car as within walking distance to everything you need.

Room tip: Apartments facing the river and park are fantastic.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkell2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SpaceHolidayApts, Manager at Space Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Hi Jody

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the rain held off on your special day.

Wishing you both all the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews