We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit and an enjoyable lunch.”

King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar
Ranked #2 of 75 Restaurants in Maleny
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: King Ludwigs Restaurant opened it's doors in Maleny more than 2 decades ago and was up until October 2021 run by the Bavarian couple, Barbara & Klaus with the help of their professional team. John and Megan have recently taken over operations with the help of existing professional team. From King Ludwigs you overlook the magnificent Glasshouse Mountains and Moreton Bay. Book your table to enjoy this 180 degree view from the verandahs and authentic German cuisine created by our German and French chefs and their team. Views, alpine feel, chalet dining rooms, wood fires and the authentic Bavarian bier bar stocked with more than 35 imported German brews combined with passionate service and honest food make King Ludwig's a destination in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland. Give us a yodel soon! Your hosts, John & Megan and Team
Reviewed 23 April 2023

A return visit for us since pre COVID and although menu choices were limited enjoyed our lunch on the deck. Food was good and service friendly and efficient. A reasonable expensive outing and the venue would not appeal to budget conscious diners.

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2023 via mobile

We’re devastated that this restaurant has changed hands again and is now a very poor version of its former self. Only the lovely view & the beer selection remain. We have been coming here for 13 years and will not come again. The food is no longer loved and delicious, the wait staff are keen but inexperienced. Such a shame.

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank JaneR258
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John L, Owner at King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2023

Jane, this is John here and back on deck doing service again on first day today after a bit of a break. We had a successful lunch of over 100 patrons today and have 70 booked for dinner. We continue to strive for excellence and obviously with my response you can see that the restaurant hasn’t changed hands again. Simply Megan and I have been in Germany and Austria. I am sorry you saw us on a bad day and they happen at times and we welcobe you back anytime and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2023 via mobile

I had pork medallions with spatzle. The pork was dry, spatzle was rice sized and over salted. Pretzel with cheese dip was pretzel with cream cheese. Not a dip. We have been to king Ludwig’s in the past and we’re so excited to be attending again for our anniversary. We stayed close by do we could enjoy the meal and evening. Did not even ask yo see desert menu. So disappointed. Not offered any water, meal was so over salted I was dying of thirst. I asked for a wine with a glass of ice and was given a glass of ice topped with wine. Will not go back.

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank belsy259
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sidewalk T, Owner at King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2023

Thanks for the review. To firstly discuss over salted food we were having repeated reviews 6-12 months ago regarding this so we toned it down and then we started receiving multiple "bland food" reviews so then we went back in the middle again so this continues to be a challenge for us it seems. As for the Obatza and for the benefit of other readers this recipe has not changed for 20 years and we continue to follow Barbara and Klaus recipe of camembert, cream cheese, carraway and garlic. We have noted the spaetzle comment and are reacting to move away from current production process to move back to using a press for a "larger and longer egg noodle". As for the other issues I can only apologize and offer that you come back again and see that we continue to strive for excellence. Our google reviews continue to attract positive experience comment however recently in trip advisor there appears a trend of negative comment and we challenge the next reader to not be influenced by these recurring comments and dine with a positive mindset rather than expect an experience to mimmick other recent comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2023 via mobile

Sunday Linch. Friendly and great service but food was poor. German sausages and sides lacked flavour. Apple Strudel was microwaved. Not value for money.

Date of visit: January 2023
1  Thank Stay45856409553
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2022 via mobile

Poor service, overpriced and inauthentic food in a great location. I visited about 18 months ago and it was excellent. This time the menu is limited and very expensive. The sausages are not much better than hot dogs and soooo overpriced! The beers are excellent but there really isn’t anything to recommend in the menu. Pretty poor example of German cooking. Sad to see it go downhill like that.

Date of visit: December 2022
1  Thank Mishka F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.