We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for number 1 Maleny Restaurant”

King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar
Ranked #2 of 75 Restaurants in Maleny
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: King Ludwigs Restaurant opened it's doors in Maleny more than 2 decades ago and was up until October 2021 run by the Bavarian couple, Barbara & Klaus with the help of their professional team. John and Megan have recently taken over operations with the help of existing professional team. From King Ludwigs you overlook the magnificent Glasshouse Mountains and Moreton Bay. Book your table to enjoy this 180 degree view from the verandahs and authentic German cuisine created by our German and French chefs and their team. Views, alpine feel, chalet dining rooms, wood fires and the authentic Bavarian bier bar stocked with more than 35 imported German brews combined with passionate service and honest food make King Ludwig's a destination in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland. Give us a yodel soon! Your hosts, John & Megan and Team
Reviewed 16 January 2023 via mobile

Sunday Linch. Friendly and great service but food was poor. German sausages and sides lacked flavour. Apple Strudel was microwaved. Not value for money.

Date of visit: January 2023
1  Thank Stay45856409553
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2022 via mobile

Poor service, overpriced and inauthentic food in a great location. I visited about 18 months ago and it was excellent. This time the menu is limited and very expensive. The sausages are not much better than hot dogs and soooo overpriced! The beers are excellent but there really isn’t anything to recommend in the menu. Pretty poor example of German cooking. Sad to see it go downhill like that.

Date of visit: December 2022
1  Thank Mishka F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2022 via mobile

We wanted a German meal so booked a table for three. We were not disappointed. Fabulous service in a very authentic setting. Tables inside and out. Spectacular views. It is a limited but excellent menu. They offered a specials menu on the day. We opted for the selection os sausages and then shared the apple strudel and a black forest cake. Delicious food, fresh ingredients, large size meals. This restaurant is not cheap so go on a special occasion and have a lot of fun. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2022
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2022 via mobile

Decided on a lunch at King Ludwig’s after a walk through Mary Cairncross Scenic Reserve and we weren’t disappointed. We were a bit early so had a drink in the bar which gave us plenty of time to review the extensive (and well priced) range of German beers on offer.
Our table was on the veranda which has great views over the glasshouse mountains and the food was equally stunning.
The pork hock was the winner with super crispy crackling and succulent meat with sauerkraut, beer and gravy onion and a dumpling. We followed this with the sticky toffee pudding which wasn’t really needed but when is a dessert ever needed.
Great food, great foods, great beer and great views what more do you need. Highly recommended

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank miketW263JG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2022 via mobile

The whole family loves Germany, the food and the culture. This is a great spot nestled in the Sunny Coast hinterland near Maleny.

Traditional german food and we all loved it, a little pricey but the staff were just great. Pork Knuckle is the go to and try the beer tasting plate.

Certainly worth a visit 👍

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank Seanj217
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.