We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar
Ranked #2 of 75 Restaurants in Maleny
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: King Ludwigs Restaurant opened it's doors in Maleny more than 2 decades ago and was up until October 2021 run by the Bavarian couple, Barbara & Klaus with the help of their professional team. John and Megan have recently taken over operations with the help of existing professional team. From King Ludwigs you overlook the magnificent Glasshouse Mountains and Moreton Bay. Book your table to enjoy this 180 degree view from the verandahs and authentic German cuisine created by our German and French chefs and their team. Views, alpine feel, chalet dining rooms, wood fires and the authentic Bavarian bier bar stocked with more than 35 imported German brews combined with passionate service and honest food make King Ludwig's a destination in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland. Give us a yodel soon! Your hosts, John & Megan and Team
Reviewed 24 June 2022 via mobile

Decided on a lunch at King Ludwig’s after a walk through Mary Cairncross Scenic Reserve and we weren’t disappointed. We were a bit early so had a drink in the bar which gave us plenty of time to review the extensive (and well priced) range of German beers on offer.
Our table was on the veranda which has great views over the glasshouse mountains and the food was equally stunning.
The pork hock was the winner with super crispy crackling and succulent meat with sauerkraut, beer and gravy onion and a dumpling. We followed this with the sticky toffee pudding which wasn’t really needed but when is a dessert ever needed.
Great food, great foods, great beer and great views what more do you need. Highly recommended

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank miketW263JG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2022 via mobile

The whole family loves Germany, the food and the culture. This is a great spot nestled in the Sunny Coast hinterland near Maleny.

Traditional german food and we all loved it, a little pricey but the staff were just great. Pork Knuckle is the go to and try the beer tasting plate.

Certainly worth a visit 👍

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank Seanj217
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2022

We had some great german beers and enjoyed some genuine german fare.
Great location. We will be back!

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 480guye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2022

Really nice vegetarian meal and a big cold beer. Quick service at a good cost. Really friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank 261dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2022

Lovely view looking out over the Glasshouse Mountains towards the Sunshine Coast.
Friendly and enthusiastic staff but vastly undermanned.
Food not exceptional except pretzels and creamed cheese for starters and Black Forest dessert.

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sidewalk T, Owner at King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2022

Ted, you must have come in on Saturday evening when lots of early tables were late and everyone arrived at once and we were one man down on the floor due to illness so sorry to hear you feel we were undermanned on the day and hopefully we can find more staff soon when the effects of coronavirus and not able to employ unvaccinated serving staff is behind us and more international travellers return to our shores. Come back again and try our meals again and we mention this review and we will look after you with a free meal. Ask for me on the phone. Rgds...John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.