We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Great beer.”

King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar
Ranked #2 of 75 Restaurants in Maleny
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: King Ludwigs Restaurant opened it's doors in Maleny more than 2 decades ago and was up until October 2021 run by the Bavarian couple, Barbara & Klaus with the help of their professional team. John and Megan have recently taken over operations with the help of existing professional team. From King Ludwigs you overlook the magnificent Glasshouse Mountains and Moreton Bay. Book your table to enjoy this 180 degree view from the verandahs and authentic German cuisine created by our German and French chefs and their team. Views, alpine feel, chalet dining rooms, wood fires and the authentic Bavarian bier bar stocked with more than 35 imported German brews combined with passionate service and honest food make King Ludwig's a destination in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland. Give us a yodel soon! Your hosts, John & Megan and Team
Reviewed 10 April 2022

Really nice vegetarian meal and a big cold beer. Quick service at a good cost. Really friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank 261dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2022

Lovely view looking out over the Glasshouse Mountains towards the Sunshine Coast.
Friendly and enthusiastic staff but vastly undermanned.
Food not exceptional except pretzels and creamed cheese for starters and Black Forest dessert.

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sidewalk T, Owner at King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2022

Ted, you must have come in on Saturday evening when lots of early tables were late and everyone arrived at once and we were one man down on the floor due to illness so sorry to hear you feel we were undermanned on the day and hopefully we can find more staff soon when the effects of coronavirus and not able to employ unvaccinated serving staff is behind us and more international travellers return to our shores. Come back again and try our meals again and we mention this review and we will look after you with a free meal. Ask for me on the phone. Rgds...John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2022

We had dinner at Kung Ludwigs tonight for a 39th wedding anniversary. We had a lovely welcoming sign! The new managers are doing a terrific job. We had delicious food, great service and finished with a fun chicken dance, complete with hats! We loved the schnapps and strudel to finish the meal.

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bidd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2022 via mobile

We had an amazing evening celebrating our good friends 39th Wedding anniversary. Right from the minute we entered the building until we left we had the best time. The food was delicious and cooked to perfection. We had apple strudel for dessert which was to die for. The service was very friendly and welcoming. If you are looking for a fun evening with delicious German style food & drink you will not be disappointed. We would go back in a heart beat.

Date of visit: March 2022
Thank Kym T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2022 via mobile

Our 1st time to Waterfront Thai. Excellent food and extremely generous serves enough to take home leftovers. Located right on the Marina at Budding. Shopfront Entry right on Nicklin Way. The Panang Curry and Garlic and Ginger Chicken Stirfry just superb. The owner is just a lovely man doing his absolute best to get back and running post Covid. Support your local business you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: March 2022
Thank Janine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.