We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Germany in the Hinterland”

King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar
Ranked #2 of 75 Restaurants in Maleny
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: King Ludwigs Restaurant opened it's doors in Maleny more than 2 decades ago and was up until October 2021 run by the Bavarian couple, Barbara & Klaus with the help of their professional team. John and Megan have recently taken over operations with the help of existing professional team. From King Ludwigs you overlook the magnificent Glasshouse Mountains and Moreton Bay. Book your table to enjoy this 180 degree view from the verandahs and authentic German cuisine created by our German and French chefs and their team. Views, alpine feel, chalet dining rooms, wood fires and the authentic Bavarian bier bar stocked with more than 35 imported German brews combined with passionate service and honest food make King Ludwig's a destination in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland. Give us a yodel soon! Your hosts, John & Megan and Team
Reviewed 29 November 2018

Friday night dinner for 20. Family wedding the next day. Perfect way to kick start the weekend. Cannot fault the staff at all, so gracious, professional. And the food! Adults and Kids all enjoyed the pretzels. You MUST try the pretzels. And can highly recommend the Jaegerschnitzel :) Good food with a wonderful view.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
15  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HappyMaleny, Owner at King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018
Google Translation

Danke Schoen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 247 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2018 via mobile

We popped in for lunch on a midweek day when it was not especially busy but for some reason everyone else was served before us, even those who came after us and were seated at the next table. We finally ordered and the meals arrived quickly which was good. After we finished we waited half an hour for the plates to be removed. Then we asked for the dessert menu and I asked what coffees they had, meaning special ones such as a Rüdesheimer etc. I was told curtly by Barbara that she wasn’t going to rattle them off for me. So we got the dessert/coffee menu and the wait began again. After another 20 minutes we decided not to bother. We would have spent at least another $40 if we had been served more promptly but obviously that was not so important.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank thereselord
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HappyMaleny, Owner at King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018

So sorry you had to wait so long. Normally we attend to guests very quickly. Do not know what happened on the day, but we do have a new staff member that needed to be trained. All we can do is apologize for the LONG wait.
Thank you for bringing all this to our attention.
Danke Schoen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2018

We were fortunate to get a table outside for lunch without a booking, though the place was Busy. All the staff are dressed in German costume which adds to the ambience of the place, We had the house special potato soup with pretzel and also the zuchhini and broccoli soup.I consider myself a very well traveled foodie,and the soup is the best I have ever had and all washed down with good quality German beer. The view is an added extra, though would return just for the food.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
14  Thank Hammer330
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HappyMaleny, Owner at King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018
Google Translation

Danke Schoen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2018

It's a 90km trip from Brisbane, but well worth it to experience German hospitality and atmosphere with great views over the Glass House Mountains. Food is great, choice of (German) beers is impressive and the service is always very friendly. Barbara welcomes all guests herself and prides herself on remembering every face coming in a second time. Highly recommended to book way in advance for a weekend lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
15  Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HappyMaleny, Owner at King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018
Google Translation

Danke Schoen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

My husband and I first came to King Ludwig's in 2002, for our 2nd anniversary. When Barbara and Klaus discovered we were celebrating, they were kind; we never forgot it. Now we bring our children, who are always made to feel so welcome. We've brought my parents, visiting from the US, who appreciated the warm reception, the setting, and who still rave about the delicious menu and fine beer list. We visited yesterday and it is simply one of our favourite places in Australia for over 15 years now. Thank you, Barbara and Klaus!

Date of visit: November 2018
14  Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HappyMaleny, Owner at King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018
Google Translation

Danke Schön!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to King Ludwigs German Restaurant & Bier Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.