We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful Indian food”

Maleny Daawat Indian Cuisine
Ranked #6 of 75 Restaurants in Maleny
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 December 2022 via mobile

I believe this restaurant has changed hands. The food tonight was pitiful, sauce looked and tasted like it was from a bottle, not from an actual spice mix. Watery and no flavor. Very disappointing considering the price of a curry is not cheap at around $23.

Date of visit: December 2022
1  Thank nomadnat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2022

Came here in November 2022 for my hubby's birthday. We both love Indian so discovering this little gem in the wonderful Maleny was a treat! The food is absolutely delicious (we had Butter Chicken and Vindaloo) and were impressed at the wide selection of foods and naans (definitely recommend the chilli naan for spice lovers). The staff was so lovely (my favourite was a question if we wanted Indian spicy or Aussie-spicy...always Indian spicy for me). This little authentic place leaves little to desire. Huge recommendations.

Date of visit: November 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alexandrahyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2022 via mobile

Tables were not cleared after patrons left.
We were kept waiting nearly an hour before our order being taken.
Beef Rogan Josh and Prawn Sagagwala presented in a bowl of ‘slop’ rather than sauce. With the sense the sauce had been bulk made/and reheated with either meat or prawns thrown in rather than cooked in fresh spices.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank Georgina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2022

Great takeaway and friendly staff. Wide range of choices and very authentic. Decor could do with an update - but can't detract from the quality of food.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank C8728UFanthonyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2022

Maleny is a charming small town, quaint and picturesque. Who would have thought we would find a superb Indian restaurant? A BYO eatery, we had the goat curry, rice and the best Palak Paneer I have tasted in years. Matched by the superb garlic and cheese naan. Daawat is a culinary gem.

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markmurungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Maleny Daawat Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Maleny Daawat Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.