We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian for lunch in Maleny”

Maleny Daawat Indian Cuisine
Ranked #6 of 75 Restaurants in Maleny
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

The Daawat restaurant makes a big deal about their butter chicken, stating it is the best in the Sunshine Coast hinterland. There must not be too many other options in the hinterland as the dish was one of the poorer examples that I have tasted. Tomato paste and cardamom dominated the dish and it was also too sweet.
The meal started off with complementary popadoms which were nice. We ordered spring rolls which is not Indian cuisine, but they were requested and enjoyed by the little ones. Garlic naan is also something we really enjoy. Unfortunately there was not much garlic flavour at all, but the naan was some of the best cooked that I have at in a long time (soft and crispy at the same time). The other dish we had was lamb rogan josh which was ok.
While I came away from the meal disappointed with the taste of the food overall, my kids enjoyed it. The service was very good and they are keen to please. So depending on your taste, you and your family might enjoy this too.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank U3284YDjasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

After a few dog disappointing Indian dinners lately this was a welcome surprise.

Had two curries and both were distinctive, packed with flavor, and made fresh to order.

Took over twenties minutes to make our dinner despite being only a few customers. You could see the two ladies running the restaurant working away in the kitchen the whole time.

More than worth the wait!!

Nice work guys.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daawat445, Owner at Maleny Daawat Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Hi Anthony T, thank you very much for support for business, glad to enjoyed you with the meal and service, look forward to see you again......regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We on holidays we were looking for dinner in Maleny on New Years Day dinner. Most places closed then came across Dawaat Indian Restaurant. We were greeted immediately upon walking in. As I am gluten intolerant I enquired if there were gluten free meals available before before bein seated... I was really surprised that all except one meal and the naan bread were gluten free. We ordered Butter Chicken and Methi Chicken with cocoanut rice. All very tasty, prices very reasonable and staff very friendly. Restaurant is BYO. We also noticed a constant stream of customers collecting takeaway orders, obviously very popular with the locals. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Purplepenny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daawat445, Owner at Maleny Daawat Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Hi Purplepenny57, thank you very much for your comment and support, glad to enjoyed with the meal. look forward to see you soon...... regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Beautiful cultural meal, just walked out of daawat feeling very full and very happy! I make sure i get indian from here every wednesday night! Its such a well priced, generou s size meal that always leaves us satisfied 💟 The staff are just lovely havent seen better customer service in the town! I will continue to come back until the day i die i love this place!

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daawat445, Owner at Maleny Daawat Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Hi Maddy P, thank you very much for your support and feed back, we love the lovely customers like you!!!!!! look forward to see you soon..........regards, Alpesh Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Amazing food !!! Best in town !! Such lovely and beautiful staff !!! My number one recommendation for a TRUE Maleny experience. Wish I lived closer to get this food everyday !!!! ❤️❤️❤️

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Holley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daawat445, Owner at Maleny Daawat Indian Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Hi Holley R, thank you for your support and feed back, i hope you coming near to our place and you enjoy the meal. looking forward to see you soon!!!!!!!!!!regards, Alpesh patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maleny Daawat Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Maleny, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Maleny Daawat Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.