We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, need staff review/training”

The Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 75 Restaurants in Maleny
Price range: AU$65 - AU$95
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, The Tamarind Restaurant, brings a taste of Thailand to the foothills of Maleny. Set in a tranquil outdoor pavilion designed to make the most of the peaceful location, our in-house restaurant The Tamarind specialises in innovative modern Asian cuisine. Headed by Executive Chef Daniel Jarrett, the team have created a menu that allows every dish to be a harmonious balance of flavours that will leave your mouth watering and your stomach begging for more. Fully licensed with an extensive wine, beer and cocktail list. The Tamarind is open to both in-house guests and the public for lunch and dinner. Lunch - Friday to Sunday with Breakfast & Dinner - 7 days a week.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was great. Service was severely lacking.

We accept that staff have to be trained, but it is unwise to use non-English speakers to take orders.

Also, the (probably) leader of the floor staff should at least try to look happy to have a job.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sinecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2024 via mobile

Innovative food served friendly knowledgeable staff. The setting is a tranquil oasis. Good vegetarian options. We loved Tanna our French waiter

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank JB2041
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2024

We wanted to enjoy a special restaurant for a special occasion and weren't disappointed. Tables are well spaced, the rain forest setting ambience is calming, service solicitous and the food is delicious. We enjoyed the two course à la carte @ $75 a head (including a glass of wine). The combination of flavours in my entree of wagyu beef tataki and main of massaman slow cooked lamb curry were both subtle yet complex, and I savoured each succulent mouth full.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Boyd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Dillon, General Manager at The Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2024

Hi boydj395,

We are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience with us to celebrate your special day! The flavours of the dishes are punchy and delicious and the ambience is quite tranquil.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Currie
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2024 via mobile

Fabulous restaurant, beautiful surroundings make for very exotic seating arrangements, the running water is very calming. The staff are very friendly and efficient. We ate at this restaurant twice, it is a very special place and the quality of the food is excellent. Very reasonable price and difficult to fault

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Kilcullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Dillon, General Manager at The Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2024

Hi Kilcullen,

We are very happy to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your dining experiences with us time and again. We hope to welcome you to the restaurant again soon.

Warm regards,

Michelle Currie
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2023

We were staying at the resort and took advantage of Spicers advertised special, which included dinner.
The dinner package is 3-course a-la carte, normally $ 99 pp. The waitress offers (upsells) the upgrade to a banquet "for only $ 30pp more". We stuck to the 3-course, which had a good choice of about 4 or 5 of each entree, main and desserts.
All dishes are delicious and well presented ; unlike last time we had dinner there, the mains came with a decent bowl of rice, so there was enough food.
The Tamarind offers a lovely ambience and gives you different seating options : outside overlooking the garden (there are heaters), lounge style on the terrace or casual/formal inside. Staff are very much on the ball and friendly.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dirk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Dillon, General Manager at The Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Good Afternoon Dirk,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience at The Tamarind and took in the lovely view and outdoor area. It is a remarkable setting we have here.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Michelle Currie
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.