We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are forced to east here I hope the Ala Carte is better”

The Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 75 Restaurants in Maleny
Price range: AU$65 - AU$95
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, The Tamarind Restaurant, brings a taste of Thailand to the foothills of Maleny. Set in a tranquil outdoor pavilion designed to make the most of the peaceful location, our in-house restaurant The Tamarind specialises in innovative modern Asian cuisine. Headed by Executive Chef Daniel Jarrett, the team have created a menu that allows every dish to be a harmonious balance of flavours that will leave your mouth watering and your stomach begging for more. Fully licensed with an extensive wine, beer and cocktail list. The Tamarind is open to both in-house guests and the public for lunch and dinner. Lunch - Friday to Sunday with Breakfast & Dinner - 7 days a week.
Reviewed 23 January 2023

We went as a party of 7 for my wife's birthday. For simplicity on behalf I of the group ordered the Banquet of 8 dished to be shared. It started well with a Coconut soup and then some lamb ribs, then the meal to a turn for the worse, much worse. The remaining 5 savory dishes were all terrible. We ate the Desert as we were still hungry, and my wife doesn't eat sugar
It was as if the Chef went home and left the dish washer to cook. The dishes were just stewed mess, without any depth to flavour. the fish dish was hardly touched , nor was the Eggplant Salad. The fish dish would be lucky to have 50g of protein in them.
Had the Chef been there he would have seen the dishes come back untouched.
When 2 of our party asked for the menu to order alternate food as it was that bad, you would have thought the chef would have been informed.

There was no comments or questions from the kitchen.
This used to get 5 stars from me.

Date of visit: January 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank justcruizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GoPlaces49969409266, Restaurant Manager at The Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2023

Hi justcruizen,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience. I am sorry to hear that it did not live up to past moments with us.

I would like to discuss this further with you at your convenience.
Please contact me on 0459 466 631.

Warm regards,

Michelle Currie
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2023

Cocktails by the fire pit and kookaburras watching nearby as we relaxed prior to entering for incredible food, wine and service. Thank you for a fantastic, flavoursome evening. It was a delightful taste sensation and every dietary requirement was met by the amazing chef. Thank you. Highly recommend and understand why you have such a great reputation.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GoPlaces49969409266, Restaurant Manager at The Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2023

Hi Marina S,

We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at The Tamarind Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Michelle Currie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2022 via mobile

Here is an idea. Sell a dinner and two hour drinks package to a local accommodation provider. Start the two hours at 6 pm before the quests arrive. Don’t tell the quests when it starts or finishes. Hit them up for all drinks after 8 pm and when challenged start talking about how you catered for dietary requirements. Truly a crap experience.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank bluemanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2022 via mobile

Really disappointing. Had really high expectations. Setting was nice and the staff and service was spot on, but the food just doesn’t cut it. It’s been dumbed down to the lowest common denominator and any resemblance to Thai food is coincidental. The food lacked balance. The Sashmj was boring and all citrus. Yes, it’s Jopanese but not attempt was made to fusion it. The Mooloolaba Prawns were nothing special. The Vegetarian Curry was too sweet with no salt to balance it. The Mussels had a nice amount of sour but none of the dishes had actually seen a chilli. If you eat there let the kitchen know if you expect ANY amount of chilli to be added to the dishes. Deserts where pleasant but unremarkable. Probably the only area where they were authentically Thai. Yandini’s Spirit House and Noosa’s Bang Bang do this so much better.

Date of visit: July 2022
1  Thank RBH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2022 via mobile

We waited 45 min for our table after sitting in the bar area. We had to ask for our table before they finally came to seat us. The waiter then tried to offer us a drinks menu over the food menu (which we had memorised by this point). The menu offers nothing special in terms of Asian inspired cuisine and does not cater for many dietary requirements. After over ordering main meals we were told they did not provide take away containers for left over curries (even though the cooking school appears to be next door..?) This was hyped up and we could not understand why. Service was average, waiters pretty much apologising for the fact they work at this establishment. Can recommend The Long Apron if you are after a lovely meal in the area.

Date of visit: July 2022
1  Thank 409prudences
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.