We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if coeliac or gluten intolerant”

The Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 75 Restaurants in Maleny
Price range: AU$65 - AU$95
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, The Tamarind Restaurant, brings a taste of Thailand to the foothills of Maleny. Set in a tranquil outdoor pavilion designed to make the most of the peaceful location, our in-house restaurant The Tamarind specialises in innovative modern Asian cuisine. Headed by Executive Chef Daniel Jarrett, the team have created a menu that allows every dish to be a harmonious balance of flavours that will leave your mouth watering and your stomach begging for more. Fully licensed with an extensive wine, beer and cocktail list. The Tamarind is open to both in-house guests and the public for lunch and dinner. Lunch - Friday to Sunday with Breakfast & Dinner - 7 days a week.
Reviewed 8 May 2022 via mobile

Although awarded five stars by others we cannot agree. It does have a lovely setting and Balinese ambience. However a much anticipated evening was ruined because this restaurant does not genuinely understand what is meant by gluten free’. It turned out none of the dishes labelled GF had GF sauces so were only suitable for the rare person who eats GF by choice. On top of being a coeliac, I admit to other issues and not being easy to feed. However this menu would not suit any person who can’t eat GF and the restaurant did not understand this.
In addition while it is fine to have a pre dinner drink, no food was offered and it was some time before we were seated ( it was not that busy). Eventually after arriving on time for 6.45, I ate at nearly 8.30.
Other issues including these I have conveyed to the restaurant directly

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank 713marilynf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2022 via mobile

Absolutely exquisite food! We had a beautiful evening here with attentive and professional service, amazing food and a lovely ambiance. Cannot recommend more highly

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank GlobeTrotting55015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2022

The dinners were exciting and the very best of ingredients, the breakfast was exceptionally good especially the banana bread.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank Jen10854
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2022 via mobile

Beautiful location with great ambiance especially at night. I had the 3 course set menu which had a nice selection with many appealing choices. My stand out was the Penang beef cheeks which was a modern twist with innovative flavors. Excellent wine list that was good value. The service from the greeting to the exit was first class and demonstrated the staff really enjoyed their work. Excellent cocktails and nice range of craft beers. This is the standout restaurant in the Maleny area.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank 893careyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2022

A little hidden gem while staying in Montville. The food was fresh, tasteful and plentiful. The service from all team members was excellent, very friendly and courteous. The atmosphere and surroundings are lovely.

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank 2katrina69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.