We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can’t fault a thing.”

The Tamarind Restaurant
Reserve a table
Ranked #8 of 64 Restaurants in Maleny
Price range: AU$65 - AU$95
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located at Spicers Tamarind Retreat, The Tamarind Restaurant, brings a taste of Thailand to the foothills of Maleny. Set in a tranquil outdoor pavilion designed to make the most of the peaceful location, our in-house restaurant The Tamarind specialises in innovative modern Asian cuisine. Headed by Executive Chef Daniel Jarrett, the team have created a menu that allows every dish to be a harmonious balance of flavours that will leave your mouth watering and your stomach begging for more. Fully licensed with an extensive wine, beer and cocktail list. The Tamarind is open to both in-house guests and the public for lunch and dinner. Lunch - Friday to Sunday with Breakfast & Dinner - 7 days a week.
Reviewed 19 August 2019 via mobile

My husband and I were staying at Spicers Tamarind and so we booked in for dinner one night.

We found everything outstanding. We had the Octopus and Cambodian Barramundi starter, both dishes were delicious.

My husband is a carnivore and was disappointed not to find beef or lamb on the main menu. However we settled on the Venison and Prawn Stir Fry and the Red Duck Curry. We also had a side of the cauliflower as it sounded intriguing.

Like the first courses, everything was delicious. The venison and duck were cooked perfectly. Whilst the cauliflower didn’t really match either of our dishes, it was amazing. I’m so glad we tried it.

I was too full for dessert however my husband had the Apple, Rhubarb and Parsnip. He said that was also delicious.

Of all the above was perfectly accompanied by a house Shiraz.

The service was excellent. All in all we couldn’t fault a single thing.

Date of visit: August 2019
4  Thank Brisbane_Catlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2019

Very disappointed with the food. Mushroom starter wet and bland. They didn't charge for this. My main course with rice but far too dry to accompany rice. Starter broth was luke warm.
Sheer coincidence sat next to someone not seen for years who was staying. They were disappointed with accommodation. Expensive so I suppose does need to be special. Outside lighting at night really bad especially if a first time visitor like us and not sure where to go. Does not live up to its reputation.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank ucopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2019 via mobile

What an outstanding place to dine on a Sunday afternoon listening to the jazz, and dining in the exquisite culinary delights served up by the chef at Tamarind
The three courses were delicious and delightful
Service was excellent and cocktails and wine list was fantastic
Will definitely come again

Date of visit: June 2019
6  Thank 981warrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 May 2019 via mobile

Truly one of our favourite restaurants in Southeast QLD. The food, service and ambience are all amazing. When we arrived we had the option of having a drink before going to our table. Instead of the bar we were shown to outside tables beside a fire pit with a tray of marshmallows and roasting sticks. Fabulous to unwind with a cocktail there before dinner. Presentation of cocktails was also amazing. We will be back.

Date of visit: May 2019
4  Thank gregdV2447RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2019

The food was amazing,service exceptional and the atmosphere beautiful.
We have been to Spicers twice and both times could not fult a thing.
I dont have a favourite meal as all the food I have tried has been amazing.
I find the flavours well balanced with hints of spice and chilli.
There is a good variety of quality wines to choose from and some great veriation on some original cocktails.
I would like to thank the Manager and staff for there wounderful service.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.