We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem: Maleny Palace Cafe”
Review of Maleny Palace Cafe

Maleny Palace Cafe
Ranked #15 of 75 Restaurants in Maleny
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 June 2024

Tucked away in Maleny, the Maleny Palace Cafe is a hidden gem offering divine Vietnamese cuisine. The friendly staff and cozy ambiance set the stage for an unforgettable meal. The slow-cooked duck coconut curry is a standout, but every dish is beautifully presented and bursting with flavor. With ample vegetarian options and accommodations for dietary needs, everyone can enjoy a delicious meal here. Convenient onsite parking adds to the charm. Highly recommend a visit – you won't be disappointed!

Date of visit: June 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Majella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2024 via mobile

Really healthy and delicious Vietnamese food with plenty of choice on the menu. Delightful service and pleasant surroundings. This restaurant has been crying out for good operators in this venue. Well done.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank MarilynFisher888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2024

My wife and I had occasion in September 2023 to visit Maleny in the heart of the Queensland Sunshine Coast Hinterland, (105 kilometres north of Brisbane), to attend one of my niece’s wedding at Tiffany’s Wedding Centre overlooking the Glasshouse Mountains.

We stayed at Tranquil Park, which was adequate for our needs and close to all the places we needed to visit during our stay. Its feature was the amazing views it offers of the Glasshouse Mountains.

On our first night in Maleny we decided to eat out and so we initially settled on the nearby Sukothai Restaurant about 5 kilometres away with its great reputation for good Thai cuisine. However, being told that we would have to wait over an hour to get a table, we changed plans. We ventured into Maleny itself, drove around and there before our eyes in Coral Street we fell upon the Maleny Palace Café. So with our love of Vietnamese food we decided to give the place a try.

We were not disappointed. The Maleny Palace is a little gem in the town and proved to be a delightful surprise packet for us.

From the outside the place is nothing to write home about and it is very inconspicuous at night time and certainly doesn’t stand out. However, once inside you get a different picture entirely with nice alcoves of attractive wooden tables and chairs and a homely look. The décor is simple with limited artefacts. A good feature above our table was a large television screen providing a continual slide show of different art works and outstanding photography. Watching these spectacular images whiled away the time while I was waiting for our meal to be served.

What stood out for us was the friendly staff and the sensational food on offer. We shared three dishes which included a delicious fried rice, a vegetable dish and a meat dish and we had an entrée of spring rolls and prawn crackers. We had a bit of a wait for our food to arrive – however, I never mind this because it tells me it is being cooked properly and not just pre made and heated in a microwave. When it did arrive we really enjoyed the moment. The food was very well presented and came to us nice and hot. For drinks my wife had a zero percent beer and I enjoyed a very refreshing lychee juice drink with generous lychees in the bottom of the glass.

We understand the place is very popular for lunches every day and it can cater for large groups looking for a celebration. There were not many patrons here on the night we called – but that did not matter. The food was great and the experience very memorable. In fact the Thai restaurant we missed out on did us a favour by being so busy that night.

We thoroughly recommend this place to anyone looking for a bite to eat while in Maleny and when we return to the town we hope to call in again.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2024

My friends recommended this restaurant a lot so I finally decided to give it a try. Excellent food, and the service was amazing, the whole experience is *chef kiss*.

Definitely will return soon.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank yoncé B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

What a gem! We happened upon this cute restaurant whilst wandering around Maleny village on a Monday. Delicious, authentic Vietnamese food under beautiful trees next to the Maleny library and riverwalk. Bonus we could have our dog on the cute deck out front. Very friendly service, yummy lychee iced tea, homemade wontons, papaya salad and pineapple fried rice filled with chicken and prawns.. all amazing! Generous servings too. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Maleny Palace Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Maleny Palace Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.