We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly, welcomed kids, comfortable, close to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of African Cottage

African Cottage Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
African Cottage Living Area
African Cottage Front Verandah African Cottage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
African Cottage Living Area
African Cottage Front Verandah
African Cottage Kitchen
African Cottage BBQ Area
African Cottage Bedroom 1
African Cottage Bedroom 2
African Cottage Bedroom 3
Spacious African themed cottage surrounded by lush tropical gardens. To relax body and soul!
Rolling Green Hills Of Maleny
Tiger The Resident Cat
Resident Guinea Fowl
Rolling Green Hills Of Maleny
Matilda Scarfe Your Host
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Maleny, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MARYANN47...
Mackay, Australia
1 review
“Friendly, welcomed kids, comfortable, close to all and would recommend”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a great stay at African Cottages. The children were made to feel comfortable played outside and were never seen as a problem. They loved the hidie bed( not saying anymore. It was close to everything and Matilda was so hospitable, we even learnt how to cook a Arican Breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Matilda and how she made the kids welcome
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2014
Thanks Maryanne! With guests like you it is not difficult to be nice. Glad the kids enjoyed the "cubby house". And hope to see you here again in the not too distant future!
Matilda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissBeeHa...
HEATHWOOD
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, great location!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Spacious house, formal dining room, breakfast nook, large kitchen, bedroom on lower floor, with 2 bedrooms upstairs with additional bedding in a loft cupboard (children may like this & call it an adventure!), has an upstairs bathroom which may not cater for a 'full' house of guests. Loved the African knick knacks on display, and a nice selection of reading material.Wonderful Hostess, so welcoming. We can't wait to return with the rest of our family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland.
Liked least: I prefer a softer mattress, with luxury padding (just me I guess!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanessaZe...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A 'Must-Do' Experience”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This was our second stay at the African Cottages and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves once again. The Cape Cottage is a little piece of Africa in the beautiful Maleny Region - comfortable, modern and with all the mod-cons. Matilda's cooking is to die-for - absolutely delicious! We loved the convenience of having the meals delivered piping hot to our cottage and will definitely return for the fantastic Bobotie and Malva Pudding! We ended up buying Matilda's recipe book and some of her amazing sauces and chutneys. Definitely worth trying at home! The bed is very comfortable and the cottage was spotless. Matilda's friendly hospitality and local knowledge (she suggested a fabulous place for breakfast in Maleny) just added to the enjoyment of the whole experience. Highly recommended :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable bed and Matilda's cooking!
Liked least: Nothing I can think of
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
col_joan
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A different experience to the usual holiday property”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Matilda was most hospitable and went out of her way to make us feel welcome.
The accommodation was nicely presented and well placed to visit either Maleny or nearby Montville.
The African influence in her décor is truly representative of her love for that country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deslee201...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great place to relax, unwind and re-connect.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I stayed at the Rondawel Cottage with my adult children. The two bedroom cottage was well set up with everything needed, including a well equiped kitchen. I loved the views through the many windows and doors to the beautiful trees and gardens outside. The cottage had a full bathroom with a large bathtub and separate shower, plus another separate toilet and vanity. We were supplied with dinner one night - a delicious African menu, which we served ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Casual, relaxed feel and central location for visiting the area.
Liked least: Parking was a little inconvenient
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2014
Thanks Deslee! We love the Rondawel as well. hope to see you back here again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing