We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The African Cottage and Rondawel
Nearby Hotels
Maleny Lodge(Maleny)(Great Value!)
USD 193*
USD 185*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tranquil Park(Maleny)(Great Value!)
USD 98*
USD 96*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Egyptian Dream Retreat(Maleny)(Great Value!)
USD 265*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Clouds of Montville Eco Resort and Spa(Montville)(Great Value!)
USD 133*
USD 124*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 314*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kondalilla Eco Resort(Flaxton)(Great Value!)
USD 178*
USD 152*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beerwah Motor Lodge(Landsborough)
USD 90*
USD 87*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
47
23
7
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
23
7
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfig treebobotieafrican themeafrican foodguinea fowlsouth africafresh linenwashing machine and dryerperfect escaperecommend highlyloved the decorglass of winespent nightstwo storeybush landmid weeksecond bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Sitting on the deck uder the amazing 500 year old tree by candlelight, eating the absolutley delicious meals prepared onsite and delivered to our cottage was perfect. The cottage was a convenient base to discover the surrounding areas and a lovely, peaceful place to relax and unwind. We had a facial and massage done by Maree in the cottage and this was also terrific. Matilda was so welcoming and kind and really made our 2 nights stay a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: The outlook from the Cape Cottage of the enormous tree was really lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Patricias0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda S, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

So glad you enjoyed Trisha. Because that is what it is all about here - to totally relax and unwind. We hope to see you back here soon! And I won’t forget about your dinner again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We stayed here just a night but had a good time. There are 3 cottages and we had the Rondawel. It is fairly spacious and is well done up in an African theme. We ordered some snacks and dinner and the food was not only quite tasty but the portions were huge.

A very friendly and plump cat named Tiger kept us company for most of the time. The place is decently maintained and was clean. The only suggestion I can make is to install a towel rack in the toilet and to stock some bath products.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda S, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Tiger the cat (he is fat because guests keep feeding him!) will always find his way onto someone’s lap! Thank you for looking after him while we were away! Glad you liked the food - Suzy does it well. I will investigate the bath products as there should be some. We supply shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. We hope to see you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

This is a delightful establishment on the main road between Maleny and Momtville. We had the 3 bedroomed cottage, which was very spacious and comfortable. The decorations were authentic,and added to the South African atmosphere.
The beds were comfortable and the showers were adequate. The Boerewors meal and breakfast the following day, were a lovely touch. We also appreciated the fact that there is a washing machine and dryer. However it was a dark, enclosed cottage, not allowing much light to enter. The fact that it was overcast and rainy whilst we were ther, meant that we always had the lights on.
I am not rating this establishment higher due to the noise at night affecting our sleep and also because we found that it was not particularly clean.
We did have a look at the two bedroomed cottage and this one was light and airy as it was not on the road. It would be my pick should we return.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank suem030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Our family stayed for 2 nights, loved that the food was included in the deal. Rooms neat tidy and homely. We were kept company by tiger the local feline. Cant wait to come back in winter to test out the fire and bath.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85kerry1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful two night stay with friends.

Loved every minute. Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable and clean accommodation.

Great place to be based to explore the surrounding country.

Recommend highly.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda S, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay! We are very proud of our little bit of Africa in Aus and it is very satisfying if our guests have a great time. Come and visit again - we would love to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews