We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Maleny Lodge(Maleny)(Great Value!)
USD 189
USD 182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Egyptian Dream Retreat(Maleny)(Great Value!)
USD 184
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 171
USD 160
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Blue Summit Cottages(Maleny)(Great Value!)
USD 259
USD 252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Maleny Terrace Cottages(Maleny)(Great Value!)
USD 189
USD 150
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maleny Tropical Retreat(Maleny)(Great Value!)
USD 170
USD 161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 444
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
47
23
7
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
23
7
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfig treebobotieafrican foodsouth africaafrican themefresh linenwashing machine and dryerrecommend highlytwo storeyspent nightsmid weeksecond bedroomlovely ladyself containedsunshine coastmy partnerlog fire
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We wanted to take the kids to Australia Zoo and found this accommodation which was within a 15 minute drive away from the Zoo. The location was nice and even though it's situated on a fairly busy road the noise wasn't too noticeable. There aren't any shops or cafes within walking distance so you will need to drive to the town centre of Melany or Landsborough which takes roughly 5 minutes. We stayed in the Rondawel Cottage which was very spacious and decorated with an African theme. The ladies were very welcoming and provided us with African meals for a breakfast and dinner, which we enjoyed. It's probably not ideal if you have young children and are looking for more than 2 nights accommodation as there really isn't much to do on the property or nearby. However, it's a little different from your traditional accommodation so it was a great experience for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bernics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We came across this place on a special deals type website and got a good deal. We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed the whole lot. We stayed in the African Cottage, which could easily house 8-9 people for a holiday. We only had four, which meant there was plenty of space. Three bedrooms, fully self contained, two storey place which provided plenty of space for the family. Also includes interesting gardens and a courtyard. The owner, Matilda, is a real character. Apart from this accommodation she produces a range of South African influenced sauces etc. and runs tours to South Africa. Included in our stay was a South African feed on the first night, which was enjoyed by all but our youngest. There are a couple of drawbacks, mainly to do with the heating. The ethanol heater isn't as effective as claimed, and the second bedroom has a vent in the roof which lets out all the heat. It is also very close to a quite busy road, and the traffic noise was annoying, particularly early in the morning. The cottage was clean, well stocked with the essentials and interestingly decorated with a heavy South African influence (Matilda's homeland). We were able to do a lot of our own cooking and food preparation which saved us money on restaurants. It is slightly outside of town, but provides a good location from which to explore the local region (it's on the road the Montville and Kondalilla Falls, a short drive to Mary Cairncross Scenic Park (which is a must see) and not far to Steve Irwin Way which provides access to Australia Zoo and many Sunshine Coast attractions and landmarks.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank funkyhughes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

We were very disappointed, we were looking forward to a relaxing couple of days with a log fire and a good book. unfortunately there is no log fire only ethanol one which you have to pay extra for and the lights as so small and dim you could not read. The carpets had all been steam cleaned before we arrived but you could still smell dogs or cats. Two lights did not work, the toaster did not work, the modern kitchen was a two plate cook top kept under the sink. Matilda was very friendly and the sheets were clean but the pillows did smell. Could not supply breakfast GF food. Car park shocking. Not at all what we expected. Cobwebs down the side of windows.

Room Tip: Ask question, make sure its what you are after
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank refinnej11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda S, General Manager at African Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Really sorry that you were disappointed. But as per usual, I wonder what makes people tick if they don't come and tell us that something is not working. We are a friendly bunch and we could have easily fixed lights, toaster etc. Although I'm a bit confused. There have been two or three groups of guests in AFTER you, and everyone is happy and thinks the cottage is absolutely charming. And we didn't even fix the toaster - it works! As for the eco friendly fireplace - the images on our website CLEARLY show the fireplace, and it is CLEARLY not a log fire! We made a conscious decision to go with eco friendly fireplaces as they are clean, efficient, they look great (you still have an open flame) and you don't have the mess. And quite frankly, most people don't know how to make a fire and just smoke themselves out - and waste the firewood! That happened a few weeks ago with guests insisting on using the fireplace in the Rondawel. And you only pay extra if you use up more than we supply you. We supply enough for your stay. As for the cobwebs - REALLY? you are in the country, underneath a huge tree, vegetation everywhere. The odd cobweb is not hurting anyone. I really wish people would stop complaining about cobwebs! Again, I am sorry you didn't enjoy. You are one of a very few. And again, if only you came and talked to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Had booked last year and was unable to come so pushed it out till this week.
Sadly the weather was not kind and dampened the experience.
The setting is very peaceful.
We were in Cape Cottage. Overlooking a beautiful fig tree with nature at our door.
Nicely laid out. Had all we needed.
There was very much a flavour of Africa in the villa. As I'd been to Africa I did appreciate the reminder.
African food is high on the list. Susie in the kitchen whipping up all sorts of amazing goodies. We did take some home. She does it with style and a great attitude. You can purchase on site or in the village. Lots to choose from.
Sadly I am in a very restricted food program which in this case was sad for me,but when I mentioned this it was no effort for them to cook suitable food for me while my husband did get to taste their food.
All delivery by owner Matilda to our cabin.
Matilda the owner on hand to chat and make us welcome as were the girls in reception.
Thankyou for our lovely three days.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda S, Owner at African Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Bless you Phyllis! You were such lovely people to deal with. Guests like you make all the hard work worth it! And next time you come and visit we are going to cook you a special meal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Just came back today and had spent 3 nights in the African Cottage with friends and had such a relaxing and tranquil time there. It was very cosy, clean and the beds were very comfortable. Location was great to be in the country. Many thanks to Matilda, Suzie & Tiger for their hospitality,

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbykiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda S, Owner at African Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Well, with guests like you how could we be anything else but friendly? If we can give a star rating to guests it will be a 5 Star Rating. Loved your company, loved the interaction - and Tiger loved the cuddles! We really like our guests to pop into the office and have a chat. Then we get to know them as friends. Hoping to see you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews