We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longreach Stay”
Review of The Jumbuck Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Jumbuck Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Longreach
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

The owners of this motel Rhett and Alison are fantastic - always ready to help and do so in a cheerful manner. The room was spacious, the food was good, and the staff helpful. I would always recommend this motel particularly if you are in the region for a couple of days.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank AnnieJeanQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison and Rhet... M, Owner at The Jumbuck Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2016

Dear AnnieJean, Thank you for your lovely review. We try hard to look after each guest and make sure they have a great visit to the outback. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2016

The Jumbuck Motel is a nice place to stay with well kept rooms, lovely meals and is close to the major attractions. The staff are very courteous and look after guests well and can arrange bookings to the varied attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison and Rhet... M, Owner at The Jumbuck Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2016

Hi Christopher C,
Thanks for taking the time to do a review of your stay. We are really keen to make sure all of our guests have a great experience in the outback. It is so satisfying for us to put together a great package of tours and attractions for visitors so that they see everything their heart is set on during the time they have with us. Also, it's easy for us to use our local knowledge to not only save money for our guests by packaging tours and attractions together but good to make sure they don't miss out on some excellent new things and set times of tours and shows. Happy to help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

The motel is pretty much locked in the time warp from when we ate Chiko rolls and Big M's at the beach... But it is clean and well maintained - but it felt pretty expensive for what it was. Reality is there aren't a heap of choices out here. For pilots - opposite the airport, so great for an overnight stay en route.
cheerio

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison and Rhet... M, Owner at The Jumbuck Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2016

Hi Michael and thanks for taking time to review your stay. Yes, the Jumbuck is a girl of a good vintage, built many years ago with strong foundations and much foresight by the designers of the time. Our housekeepers are proud of our 5 star rating for cleanliness and our maintenance team are constantly on the job to address any maintenance issues as soon as they occur - thanks for noticing. We think comfortable beds, a good shower, free wifi, new TVs, a great restaurant and friendly outback hospitality are our most important offerings. We will never be a new motel but we will certainly look after you the absolute best we can. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

This property is quite old but in my case very clean and well presented. Bed was good shower pressure was amazing, whoever makes the scrambled eggs is a gun and the resident kangaroos really set the standard, thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: The only complaint I had was the fridge made some strange noises so check that out on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ash0572015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

I had 2 nights at the Jumbuck for a work trip to Longreach. Hosts Alison and Rhett are very welcoming. Their other staff are friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfy and looked ove yhe lawn area. There is a sliding door that can be opened to enkoy the cool evening air.
Dinner was very tasty and the poached eggs for breakfast were perfectly cooked. Gluten free available when requested. Breakfast is delivered to your room and arrived at the selected time.
The Jumbuck is an easy walk to both the Qantas museum and the Outback Hall of Fame. I can recommend staying here.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank Ros R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longreach
1.0 km away
Abajaz Motor Inn
Abajaz Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Longreach
219 reviews
0.2 km away
Albert Park Motor Inn
Albert Park Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Longreach
321 reviews
1.4 km away
Longreach Motor Inn
Longreach Motor Inn
#1 of 4 in Longreach
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Kinnon & Co Outback Accommodation
1.9 km away
Longreach Motel
Longreach Motel
#1 of 2 in Longreach
67 reviews
25.4 km away
Wellshot Hotel
Wellshot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ilfracombe
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Longreach

Been to The Jumbuck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jumbuck Motel

Address: 45 Ilfracombe Rd | Qld, Longreach, Queensland 4730, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Longreach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Longreach
Price Range: $120 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jumbuck Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Jumbuck Motel Longreach Qld. We love to look after our guests with a friendly Queensland welcome and great outback hospitality. We invite you to enjoy our accommodation at its best, just off the main highway, on well-maintained grounds and ever updating accommodation. Enjoy your stay while conveniently located only minutes to Longreach's main attractions. Enjoy a hearty meal in the restaurant or spoil yourself and order room service! Relax in the gazebo near the gardens or have a dip in the salt water pool. Plus use our FREE recently upgraded Wi-Fi from anywhere on site. Room service breakfast is available for your convenience seven days a week as well as buffets for large groups. We offer great value for contract workers and welcome group bookings with room rates available by calling direct on ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Jumbuck Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumbuck Motel Longreach
The Jumbuck Motel Longreach, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing