We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drivers Sunset Cruise”

Outback Aussie Tours
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Longreach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Let Outback Aussie Tours show you Outback Queensland. We offer Thomson River cruises and a selection of day tours including Station visits, Dinosaur attractions, Iconic Stockman's Hall of Fame and Qantas Founders Museum. Don't miss our fully licensed Drover's Sunset Cruise featuring Smithy's Outback Dinner & Show. Watch the live entertainment on the River Stage while you enjoy a 2 course table camp oven themed dinner under the stars, with table service. For a fantastic station experience, join the Station Sunset Dinner Tour or one of two station smoko tours. Other tours taking in more of our Outback Queensland region include the Legendary Longreach and Winton Tour, Birdsville Desert Escape, Gulf Savannah Tour, Cape York & Torres Strait and the Corner Country Highlights tour. Travel in comfort aboard our custom designed vehicles and be treated to our well known Outback hospitality. We can't wait to meet you!
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

This Thomson river cruise followed by a hearty outback meal at Smithy's was worth 5 stars by itself. The interesting commentary ,wildlife and sunset from the comfort of the boat was memorable.
To be entertained by Owen Blundell is an experience not to be missed. This talented musician/entertainer held the appreciative audience in his hands before, during and after dinner. He regaled us with stories, jokes,impersonations and his own quality musical style.
Overall this experience is one for the bucket list. The wholesome friendliness of all our hosts was heartwarming. We give it 5 stars without hesitation.

3  Thank bdsmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 291 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2015

after having read what we believed to be a great tour experience, thoroughly disappointed that all our tour s were on a school bus. The trip out to Winton and Lark Quarries 2 hours each way was not Luxury 4 wd coach travel as advertised. not comfortable for a group.

Thank ron p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management4735, Manager at Outback Aussie Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

G’day Ron,
Firstly, thank you for sending through your feedback. We will also be contacting you directly to personally apologise and explain the reason behind the change of coach.

For your particular tour departure, due to circumstances beyond our control, the scheduled vehicle became unavailable. Rather than cancel the tour which would have disappointed many guests, we opted to use a vehicle which is new to our fleet. Our coaches often have had past lives as School buses, but are eventually refurbished with the Outback Aussie Tour brand and fit-out. This new coaster vehicle is scheduled for refurbishment.

We’d like to reassure you that the vehicle used on your tour, although not refurbished, was equipped with up-to-date safety features and was ideal for reaching less accessible locations. When refurbished, it will have more leg room as we will be reconfiguring the seats.

Thanks again Ron for expressing your feedback and we will contact you directly to make a personal apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Loved the boat trip down the Thomson to see a specular sunset in the outback. Back to camp for a camp fire, dinner and show. The food was tasty, served quickly by attentive staff. I was a little disappointed with the show I expected an authentic Australian bush show with lots of yarns, some Australian country music and Aussie jokes. We had a bus full of Kiwis with us and I love to think that we are unique in Australia with our own sense of humour. Hearing Kenny Rogers being played rather than an Australian singer disappointed me. Did appreciate the door to door pick up and drop off this is a great service

Thank selinaandtrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management4735, Manager at Outback Aussie Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2015

G'day Selina and Trevor,
Thank you for your review. We agree with you on the spectacular sunset here. We're a bit spoilt in the outback with stunning sunsets. Our entertainers are multi-talented and are able to perform a wide selection of songs and styles. They also perform requests, so may well have performed a Kenny Rogers song. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the dinner and the service by our friendly team. Many thanks. Smithy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

After being picked up from our motel we were taken on a Sunset Cruise which was so relaxing and then taken to Smithy's for dinner and show. The dinner which was served by a great team of helpers was fantastic as was the show after dinner. One of the best nights on our touring holiday. After the show we were taken back by bus to our motel. Would highly recommend this experience.

Thank PAM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management4735, Manager at Outback Aussie Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2015

G'day Pam, Many thanks for reviewing our Drover's Sunset Cruise. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the whole experience from pick up to drop off. Hope to see you again soon. Smithy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Fantastic night not to be missed. Great entertainment, service and food.
The door to door pick up and drop off service was greatly appreciated.

1  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management4735, Manager at Outback Aussie Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

G'day Phil,
Glad you enjoyed the dinner and show at Smithy's Outback Dinner and Show recently. We enjoy transferring our guests to and from the dinner with courtesy motel pick ups. It also ensures that you can relax and enjoy a drink without worrying about driving. See you soon we hope. Smithy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outback Aussie Tours also viewed

 

Been to Outback Aussie Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing