We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Frogs Kuranda

Frogs Kuranda
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Kuranda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Esablished in 1980 and still run by the same dedicated family of chefs, baristas and managers.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my husband ate here and had such a great experience with great service and even better food. My husband said it was some of the best fish he has had!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank ShannenPurnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate lunch here on New Year's Eve. The service was good with our water being refreshed and icy cold. It was needed on such a hot and humid day so that was good. I had the avocado and feta toast and my husband had the steak burger. We both enjoyed our meals and they were a good size serving. The only thing is it's a little bit hot because you are sitting on the verandah but it was still good overall and the icy water certainly helped. Overall a nice lunch.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fendaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Great location even when the rest of the markets are closed. Looking out over the wildlife zoo and eating with dragons wondering around. The pizzas were good. My coffee was average.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank 529liamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2020

The food was average, or a little below. Very expensive for what it was. We tried it, I wouldn't recommend it or eat there again.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brien J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry P, Owner at Frogs Kuranda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Hi Brian I am sorry that Frogs was not what you expected, certainly "average" is not what we expect our meals to be and "expensive"??? obviously I do not know what you ordered but I can say that our ingredients are fresh and of the highest quality and nearly every item is produced by my team of chefs and cooks on the premises, our serves are above average in size.
"Tourist Trap"? Frogs has been operating in Kuranda serving its locals since 1980 that's 40 years looking after local residents and yes tourists look for Frogs because of our good reputation.
Thanks for the review I always appreciate feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2020

We went there for lunch while up in Kuranda and the service was brilliant and their fish & chips are hands down the best we had up there. The fish was nice & fresh, just melting. YUM!

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 735janac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry P, Owner at Frogs Kuranda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Wild caught barramundi is our fish for the beer battered fish and chips and yes it really is very good, I have been buying this barramundi from the same fisherman for 6 years now and he excels in what he provides.
Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frogs Kuranda also viewed

 
Kuranda, Queensland
Kuranda, Queensland
 

Been to Frogs Kuranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.