We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort and fantastic value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Leisure Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort and fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

The current owners have done a wonderful job refurbishing the resort. I was originally going to stay for a couple of days but I enjoyed my visit so much I extended it to a week. The bungalow was airconditioned, spacious, peaceful and well fitted out with lovely furniture and large flat screen tv. Great holiday resort with friendly owners, huge pool and plenty to do.
Will definitely be coming back next year!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    35
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
86
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

It's the best family resort we have visited in years, friendly, relaxing and sooooo....... much for the kids to do. Huge pool, games room with pool table, ping pong, etc. There is also a tennis court , free WIFI and its only 50mtrs to beach, we will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are great for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simm063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed for one night on the island rather than doing a day trip. Took the car ferry and were thankful we had our own vehicle and could travel around to less visited places. The Radical Bay road is an interesting drive be very careful it has large holes in the surface so caution is required, the speed limit of 40 Kms is somewhat over stated around 20 is safe.

The resort was good with plenty to do especially for families with children, pool, tennis courts, games room with table tennis, snooker table, table soccer, many board games and even a dolls house and other toys for younger children. They also run a craft corner for children for a few hours in the middle of the day, at a reasonable cost. The laundry facilities were good. If you want to cook outside the free BBQs are a plus, even the cooking oil and utensils are supplied and very clean. The Stone Curlews (birds) were an interesting part of the local wildlife as they moved around the resort freely. The staff are relaxed and friendly offering assistance on bus times, things to see etc. Good value for money.

Room Tip: If you want peace go for the rooms away from the pool area. With children try for one near the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rix_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Stayed for one night. Facilities were decent but the bathroom shower didn't have a stall to it. Found it very strange to shower in an open area only separated from the toilet by a half wall. The pool was really nice but I couldn't find the spa that I thought was also on site. For what I paid, I can't complain too much.

The resort is located 2 minutes away from the beach, however it seemed like it was the unpopular part of the beach since no one else was there. About 5 minutes away from the supermarket, bottle shop, and a couple of markets. However it seems like most of the places you'll want to check out on the island are a bit of a drive away.

Service was friendly enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Having never been to Magnetic Island, was not sure what to expect. Arrived via ferry, jumped on a bus at the ferry terminal telling the driver we were staying at Island Leisure Resort. No problem at all, were actually dropped off across the road. Very relaxed, quiet ( except for the birds) location. Easy access for walking to shops, bottleshop, cafes and restaurants. Bure's were spacious, clean, basic old decor but ideal for a small family ( we're so used to accommodation in south east asia and a bit picky) Pool area was undergoing some replanting so was a bit sparse, some of the palms looked shabby and the grass was dead which was a surprise for the so called tropical north. Overall was ok stay nothing flash.

Room Tip: all bures are the same and are close together. Ask for one at the back of the resort if you want pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
2.1 km away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
4.8 km away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.6 km away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Grand Mercure Apartments Magnetic Island
1.6 km away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 7 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
4.5 km away
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
#3 of 18 in Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Leisure Resort

Property: Island Leisure Resort
Address: 6 Kelly Street | Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Magnetic Island
Price range (per night): $131 - $199
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award-winning resort with a range of fully self-contained burés to suit singles, couples and families. Our standard buré has a large TV, ceiling fans, air-conditioning, kitchen, ensuite bathroom and private dining patio. We also have superior burés and wheelchair-accessible burés. The entire resort is wheelchair accessible. The resort has a lovely lagoon-style swimming pool, with spa and gas barbeque area. This area is lit at night, enabling you to eat outside and enjoy our lovely evenings. We have a full-size tennis court, games room with pool table, table tennis, board games and guest library with books and magazines. We also have a children's craft area, a guest laundry with washing machines and dryers. There is also a licensed snack bar. We are located 50 metres from the beach and 100 metres from the shops and restaurants. The island bus stops at the front of the resort. This is a great resort in a great location with great rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Leisure Hotel Magnetic Island
Island Leisure Resort Magnetic Island, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing