We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very rude staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Base Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Base Backpackers
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

When you first arrive at base you initially think WOW and then you meet the staff. I can honestly say i have never met such a rude receptionist in all my time traveling. The rooms also look like they could do with a good clean. My advice would be stay well clear and stay at bungerlow bay instead

Room Tip: Stay well clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sneebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    148
    83
    73
    43
See reviews for
5
72
141
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilvoorde, Belgium
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We booked the steal deal and stayed two nights on Magnetic Island. The island is lovely, and Base could be the perfect place to stay, if only their staff would be less rude... We ended up with no dinner or drinks on Christmas day because they wanted to finish early. And the mood was even worse on other days... then again, think I would not be in the best of moods listening to the loudest music ever all day. No smiles, no friendly reply to a simple question... desperate need for a change in attitude!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Magnetic Island hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed in private cabin that costed 6 dollars to upgrade per night.

The cabin is partly open to air so the aircon is kind of useless unless you sit in front of it. Also because of the lack of wall/window the loud music from the bar is very annoying in the evening.

Room was dirty when i checked in. Sand and dust on the floor. Even more under the bed..

Bathroom was in revolting state. The shower cubicles will fall down any minute.

Dont bother going diving. Theres just sand.

No own alcohol allowed in the cabins and a glass of beer costed nice 6 dollars. No other watering holes neaby.

Beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finsammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I had booked a two night package for this hostel, I ended up staying 7 nights and have moved to the island and I don't think I ever want to leave.


Magnetic island is one if those places you don't hear to much about, but once you get there you relax and feel like you are on hoilday straight away!

The hostel isn't perfect, the bathrooms need some work and rooms can get hot but the feeling of family as you check in makes up for all of that.

The staff appear really busy at times but there local knowledge is worth waiting for, the share the tips of secret places and are only to happy to help with bookings and maps.

One of the staff even drove me to the supermarket to get some cash out when the travelex machine wasn't working.

Stunning views, great times and happy people. This is what Australia is all about!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masterjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

The hostel is just a collection of little bungalows, which sounds nice but when you cram in 6 people with shoddy aircon, its a sweatbox! The hostel is right on the beach which is cool and they have things going on in the bar at night which is just as well because there is NOTHING else around. There are no daily activities though. The island is ok, but not the backpacker party island that it's made out to be. It was ok for a chillout though. I would not stay at this hostel again because it was not that clean but mostly because the staff were awful. They seemed to hate it if you asked a question, and if you did they looked at you like you were an idiot. They obviously don't realise they work in customer service! The kiwi girl was miserable and really stern and the blond girl was worse and just grunted one word responses. They managed to break a smile at night though when they literally took over one section of the bar with their pals drinking and not interacting with any of the guests. Based on this, stay in a hostel that appreciates its custom.

Room Tip: 8 bed shares are just too cramped. Unless you're on a major budget stick with 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nichi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
3.1 km away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
6.1 km away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 6 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
5.9 km away
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
#2 of 17 in Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#3 of 8 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.7 km away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 6 in Magnetic Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.2 km away
CStay
CStay
#1 of 17 in Magnetic Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers

Property: Base Backpackers
Address: 1 Nelly Bay Road, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Magnetic Island
Price range (per night): $64 - $133
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Magnetic Island is a must do on any East Coast trip - in fact it's a destination holiday in its own right, especially as the only backpackers in Australia with 100% beach frontage. Boasting on average, more than 320 days of sunshine per year, Magnetic Island is the ultimate tropical adventure for anyone looking for something special Spend your days sipping a cocktail in the sun by the pool, spotting koalas from North Australia's largest wild Koala population or learning to dive at our on site SCUBA facility. From lazy days on the beach directly in front of the property to heaving parties of over 4,000 people for our Full Moon Down Under events - Base Backpackers has something for everyone. From ocean front en-suite private cabins - to shaded camping grounds and everything in-between, we've got an on site travel shop, cafe, restaurant and party bar and a team of staff that are willing to help in any way we can. Come stay and play in one of Australia's premier backpackers, on beautiful Magnetic Island. Getting here: Catch the SealinkQLD ferry transfer from Townsville to Nelly Bay, then it is a short ride on the Public Bus heading towards 'Picnic Bay' the bus stop is out the front of our property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Base Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel Magnetic Island
Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing