We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“By far the best value for money north of the...”

Review of Riverside Daintree

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
a magical place
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
a magical place
Riverside, only 15 meters to Cooper Creek
Relax
Thornton peak from the front verandah
Your swimming hole
King size bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Daintree, Daintree Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tanya B
Leonora, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“By far the best value for money north of the Daintree River”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our second visit to the Daintree, and we've stayed at quite a few places now in the area. This is, without a doubt the best value for money you will get. The property is beautifully presented, and the owners have been doing some upgrades and renovations which are fantastic - particularly the kitchen extension. The decor is lovely, and very well presented and clean. We had a great time - saw cassowary crossing the creek from the verandah, played games on the spacious lawn, saw a new animal nearly every day we were there and wandered around the property reading signs at various points about the trees and vegetation (nice touch by the owners). This property has internet, landline and satellite TV - a rare find in this area. It's in the rainforest but with enough area around the house cleared that you don't feel swallowed up by it - the best of both worlds.

If you like Ulysses butterflies, there's always some fluttering about. Good facilities, awesome ceiling fan in living area and bedroom (must get one of our own) and comfortable furniture. Highly recommend a visit - we'll be back for sure when we can get there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LTD-CLD
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little slice of rainforest heaven”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I needed an escape from our hectic working lives and RIverside Delivered all that and more! From the moment we turned off of Turpentine road, it felt like we left the crazy world behind. The long driveway with high, over-arching palms soon gave way to a clearing where the rustic dwelling stood silently but for the faint bubbling of the nearby Cooper's Creek. If you crave quiet and solitude, look no further than here!

This place is excellent for anyone that "want's to get away from it all" but still have a few creature comforts. There is a gas stove & oven/grill, refrigerator, and barbecue for cooking & food storage, a TV and Bluetooth-capable stereo for entertainment, and the owner has kindly provided a landline telephone and satellite-based internet with WiFi so you're not completely cut off from the outside world. Considering there is little to no mobile service in the Daintree, this is greatly appreciated. Satellite internet has it's limitations, so if you stick to emails and text messages with basic browsing, you'll be fine.

Riverside's utilities are environmentally friendly with a bank of solar panels on the roof to supply electricity and there is a backup generator that will automatically kick in if the reserves run low. The location operates on bore water which is great for cleaning, showering, etc, but we did bring our own bottled water for drinking and cooking / tea & coffee. As resources are limited, there are to be no appliances with elements such as dryers, irons, electric kettles, hair straighteners, toasters and so on. This was never an issue for us and we were very conscience of our energy use.

Just so you're not completely alone, there is an abundance of wildlife randomly roaming the property. During our stay we saw a family of wild pigs at the border of the front yard several times, had cassowaries pass within meters of the house while quietly enjoying a morning cuppa, and had many scrub fowl and bush turkeys roaming. In the very close Cooper's creek, we saw many turtles & fish (who LOVE bacon and bread) as well as an eel or two. Best of all was the resident Butcher Bird, Keko, who arrived to greet us every morning and afternoon, even bringing a friend at times.

The Daintree is full of things to do and see and one can drive easily to Cape Tribulation with a regular car; anything beyond requires a four-wheel drive. There are numerous walking tracks as well as tours to be had and the Cooper's Creek Crocodile Cruise is a must-do as they are the only operator on Cooper's Creek and you won't be competing with other tour boats to see crocodiles in their natural habitat. There are plenty of nearby places to buy supplies with a small servo and convenience store just 10 minutes away and additional shops at Cape Tribulation. Be forewarned that at the time, there was only one bottle shop available at Cape Tribulation as the one at Cow Bay had closed two months prior.

Overall, we rate this location, accommodation, and experience extremely high and would not hesitate to go back ourselves or to recommend this to friends and family. The only negative is that we didn't spend enough time here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace & quiet, the location, and the wildlife.
Liked least: We have no negative comments.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinMe...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise and then some”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I wanted a holiday this year that encompassed both relaxtion and exploration. The experience we had at Riverside outshone our hopes and expectations tenfold!
As we drove down the palm leaf encased drive way tunnel we knew this was going to be rather special - no need to get married for a honeymoon feel when you see this place!
It was a private natural rainforest oasis all to ourselves with the added bonus of a gorgeous quaint comfy home from home hideaway, with the biggest comfiest bed AND fit for a king and queen hammock!
Nature is obviously in abundance here - it's just paradise. We loved feeding the resident turtles every morning with our left over egg and bacon brekkie in the properties little creek! The properties local butcher bird would often come and sit on our table outside for a bit of company. The view of the mountain from the verandah is breath taking,
The surrounding area is beautiful with loads of things to see and do including croc cruises 10 minute drive down the road (we saw 4), botanic board walks, beaches and mangroves, tea fields, Cape Tribulation village, Mossman Gorge, Insect Farm/Museum. We had a day in Cairns only 2 hours away to visit the Skyride and Kurumba village.
So exploration and relaxation was very easily done. We're going to go back - it's the best way to re-charge the batteries and feel welcomed and relaxed from the moment your tyres hit the drive.
Thanks Riverside

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole property - house and garden and creek
Liked least: No toaster
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelFav...
Bad Wildbad, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in November 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die unbeschreibliche Lage
Liked least: Es gab nichts Negatives
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing