We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
25
2
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
2
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed and breakfast yogurt cakes b and b little gem other guests local area get away harry host sleep recipe hospitality accommodation character escape house
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2016

A wonderful weekend away at the Old Church Boonah! I believe that we were the B&B's first escorted group that they had taken, and we feel that they did a superb job. Our small group of seven was after a wine tasting weekend away, and came across the Old Church online. After our initial enquiries with Harry & Christelle, together with our group we designed an itinerary that included pick up and return transfers from/to Brisbane (a luxurious, leather nine seater & were even treated to a gorgeous cheese platter onboard for our Friday evening departure), a full day of wine tasting at three local vineyards on Saturday, after exploring the morning Boonah markets, followed by an early morning hike on Sunday morning and then onto one more winery, before enjoying our final lunch at the Old Church, and then returning home. They even organised a meal out on Friday evening at a local restaurant Poppi's, which was modern, organic and chic.

The remainder of the weekend, Christelle catered the most beautiful, heart warming, home cooked meals for us throughout our whole stay, and we felt completely spoilt by her healthy but hearty meals! She even wrote out some of her recipes for us as requested. Harry chauffeured us around throughout the weekend, stopping at the little nearby towns to look at art galleries and local iconic stores, while en-route to the local vineyards, not forgetting a stop at a scenic bushwalk early Sunday morning.

The Old Church itself has nine beds but can sleep 12 (for memory), so is ideal for a medium/large group or those travelling with several families. The fire place went constantly all weekend, which was very welcoming as our weekend temperatures dropped down to zero degrees overnight. The original part of the church has been renovated and sleeps five upstairs in the mezzanine level, with the bathroom just at the base of the stairs, while there are three new ensuite bedrooms in the rear of the house that sleep seven. The hosts had a separate dwelling off to the side entrance to the church, however it was very private and at no time did we feel they were encroaching on our space. You're very welcome to pick your own lemons/limes in their garden too!

A wonderful, relaxing, peaceful, remote place to spend a weekend away, and one that any of us would certainly return to. Many thanks again Harry & Christelle!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TheFlowTravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry W, Owner at The Old Church Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thanks for that very comprehensive and positive review. Yes you were the first wine tour group and it was fun and educational which is what we endeavored to create. The first of many more to come, to showcase our beautiful Scenic Rim. Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

from the host to the unique beauty of this amazing property its 5 star all the way.
from the moment you arrive and are welcomed by Harry with a big smile and serene personality you know you have made the right choice.
I had the best nights sleep i have had for a long time here ,its the fresh air , the stars
that shine bright , the birds and scent of the abundant flowers and of course the freshly
baked sourdough that make this place so special . Don't just overnight , stay a while
to rest and appreciate.if you need it there is free Wi Fi . Thank you for a lovely stay and looking forward to next time.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lucyjacinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Just loved it!
Beautiful garden, very nice hosts and unique atmosphere.
Continental breakfast with freshly home-baked bread adds to the picture.

This bed and breakfast is located in the old church building with a larger room on top of the old part and three rooms with ensuites in the newly built part (which is much nicer to stay in and more private).

The host are having chooks so we were woken up by the cocks but went back to sleep without any problems. Otherwise - very quiet and peaceful place.

Room tip: Pick renovated back rooms
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mexiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

My daughter visiting from England has declared that Boonah is THE place for her. Every thing about our visit to Boonah was an enjoyable experience, from the police man who guide us from the main street - our Garmin became cactus- to the B&B, to the rained out Easter play. I really do think that our perceptions of every experience was covered with the glow of the welcome, hospitality and comfort given to us at the B&B on the first late evening arrival

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank madelons742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed every part of our stay, will definitely be back! The perfect place to rest and unwind, but bring a camera... everywhere you turn there's a charming photo opportunity! ...and the service went above and beyond. Delicious sour dough bread and great coffee. It doesn't get much better :)

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank josiebowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry W, Owner at The Old Church Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Thanks Josie it was a pleasure having you all stay and the great music that came with it.
Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews