We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and personal experience ”

The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Atherton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: BOOKINGS ESSENTIAL. Enter an upside down world and meet the real stars of the night! Our personalised tours only run during feeding time 3-6pm, when the bats come down to eye level from their 6 metre-high roost. Eclectic collection of bat art , world-class facilities and bat information set among restful gardens. Open all year but bookings essential as tour times vary between 3 and 6pm. Entry $20 adult and $10 children.
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

I visited The Bat Hospital with my partner and we throughly enjoyed our visit. Getting to see the bats up close and personal was fascinating. There was lots of information provided by the fantastic Jenny who opened up the hospital and she recruits many volunteers. The Bat Nursery was my favourite place, they were just so gorgeous. A very informative and interesting tour - well worth a visit : )

Thank LPK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Manager at The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Glad you enjoyed your visit, the nursery is a favourite for many. The babies are all growing up now so we only have about 18 there now, the rest are in the outside cages eating fruit and being very active. Lots of flapping to strengthen their wings for flying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"micro bats"
in 12 reviews
"flying fox"
in 7 reviews
"barbed wire"
in 5 reviews
"dedicated volunteers"
in 3 reviews
"love wildlife"
in 2 reviews
"enlightening experience"
in 2 reviews
"great creatures"
in 2 reviews
"cairns holiday"
in 2 reviews
"fruit bats"
in 3 reviews
"t shirts"
in 3 reviews
"great learning"
in 2 reviews
"personal tour"
in 3 reviews
"permanent residents"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 7 reviews
"eco system"
in 2 reviews
"interesting tour"
in 3 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 4 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2017

This is the only place in the world to get an up close experience with these amazing creatures. Jenny was lovely and all the volunteers were very nice. Its great to see such dedication and passion to such a worthy cause.

Thank laurenbassett97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Manager at The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Glad you enjoyed your visit and rated us so highly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

I love bats, so it was no surprise to my partner or I that I wanted to go visit The Bat Hospital. We took an afternoon tour with Jenny and one other person and I LOVED it! I learned so much about bats and it was great to be able to get up close to these beautiful (and misunderstand) creatures. Jenny is so knowledgeable and her passion for the bats is obvious. I cannot recommend the bat hospital enough!

Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Manager at The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Glad you enjoyed the visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Great learning about the different types of bats that live in north Queensland and how the changing environment is affecting them. Got to see them all up close inside the cages like you never could with a zoo or in the wild

Thank Bobbinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Manager at The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for reviewing us so highly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

I love this place. If ever we come to Cairns, we make a special trip out to Tolga to visit Jenny and her 'batty' crew, both volunteer helpers and her long stay bat residents. Jenny is tireless in her efforts to rescue and recover injured or orphan bats. She has a wealth of knowledge to impart on anyone willing to listen, as do her close happy band of helpers. And the bats themselves are the stars too. You can go inside the large enclosure where the mega bats or flying foxes are kept. She has mainly spectacled, grey and red flying foxes. Some were pregnant or had just given birth when we were there. Then she also has a few microbats as well as baby bats in her bat nursery and ICU. SOOOOO cute too! You are allowed to get right up, close and personal too. Great for photos. And it also helps to dispell any fears you may have from the bad press bats in general seem to have, or from Hollywood horror movies. Now that I understand more about bats and what they do and are needed for in our environment, I love bats. Totally hooked on them - really! This is a must visit. Call first to let them know you are coming. They have casual tours from 3pm each day, and the entrance fee is very reasonable. Follow up your visit with watching the thousands of bats flyover from the Tolga Scrub roosts around sunset, and then? Off to the Tolga Hotel pub of course!

Thank Irene I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Manager at The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Great review thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre also viewed

Atherton, Queensland
Atherton, Queensland
 

Been to The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing