We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile and interesting visit”

The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre
Ranked #3 of 22 things to do in Atherton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: BOOKINGS ESSENTIAL. Enter an upside down world and meet the real stars of the night! Our personalised tours only run during feeding time 3-6pm, when the bats come down to eye level from their 6 metre-high roost. Eclectic collection of bat art , world-class facilities and bat information set among restful gardens. Open all year but bookings essential as tour times vary between 3 and 6pm. Entry $20 adult and $10 children.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worthwhile and interesting visit”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

My partner and I went on spec to the bat hospital and even though we should have booked the tour we were able to attend the next tour.
The lady who took us around was very passionate about the bats and was able to impart her knowledge in an excellent way. I'm usually quite skeptical about seeing animals in captivity but the work that is being done here is all about aiding recovery of the bats and releasing them when and if possible.
We learnt a lot about different bats (there were 6 different varieties to see) and we got quite close as we went into the cages and their living area.
The facility is really good and I highly recommend a tour and being able to make a contribution.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Geenius75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Manager at The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 19 February 2017
Yes always best to make a booking but some days we can be very flexible. Thank you ro taking he time to do a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Aust
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very engaging”
Reviewed 19 January 2017

My family and I visited a few weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity! We were all engaged and interested, seeing the care taken to rehabilitate injured bats, and to learn about their role in the ecosystem.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Char799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Manager at The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2017
Really pleased to know your whole family enjoyed the Bat Hospital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprising experience for the whole family”
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Thanks Jenny for sharing your experience and helping us better understand micro and macro bats! This visit was prompted by another trip advisor recommendation - and we're glad we stopped by... We watched an introductory video, then were led around the hospital to observe about half a dozen different types of bats. The care and attention given to them in this facility is admirable. We were glad to visit and to know that our visit was helping to support the good work done by Jenny and her team. Thank you.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank TheBlueAnts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Manager at The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Thanks Anthony, good to get your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jeeny is an AMAZING person with an enormous heart of gold”
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Jeeny spent just under two hours with us - we asked her to double the tour (usually her tours go from 45mins to 1hr 30mins).

Jeeny doesn't brag about herself enough, she says it's all for the bats & if it helps them, it helps her. Jeenys' passion for bats started somewhere near the 1990's, once her father passed she turned her house and her inheritance into the bat hospital you see today, with a little help here and there from the local council...

She relies on volunteers from around the world, on donations from her tours she does daily and other people who support her work. Her goal is to educate people on why the bats are important in today's society, this is a hard road to travel down as bats are not the most popular animal around, she is well aware of this and she continues through this like any strong woman would.

I wish her all the best & I highly recommend this tour, Jeeny explains things in a easy to understand manner, there is a lot to see/learn at the bat hospital. It is well maintained, volunteers love the experience and Eco friendly. Definitely opened my eyes about bats and I think there is a lot more researchers could learn about this little creatures than what meets the eye.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelc-JayneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Manager at The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
A great review, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Highlight of Queensland”
Reviewed 3 January 2017

If you have a keen interest in bats then you should make a point to visit Tolga Bat Hospital. They run hour long tours in the afternoon where you learn about bats, the hospital and it's work, and then you get to meet the residents. We toured the microbat enclosure and learned about the few who were housed in there, and then we visited each age group of the megabats and learned about what they were capable of at each stage of development. It is feeding time in the afternoon, and you will get to see them quite closely! It was a great experience to see the bats and to support a place doing such wonderful work at the same time! I couldn't recommend it enough, but keep in mind that booking is essential!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Brnnfrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Manager at The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Wonderful you took the trouble to write a review, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Atherton, Queensland
Atherton, Queensland
 

Been to The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing