We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bats are important to our environment”

The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Atherton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: BOOKINGS ESSENTIAL. Enter an upside down world and meet the real stars of the night! Our personalised tours only run during feeding time 3-6pm, when the bats come down to eye level from their 6 metre-high roost. Eclectic collection of bat art , world-class facilities and bat information set among restful gardens. Open all year but bookings essential as tour times vary between 3 and 6pm. Entry $20 adult and $10 children.
Reviewed 23 September 2015

One of the highlights of a Cairns holiday, set in a beautiful part of the tablelands with dedicated volunteers who not only care about bats but also have an excellent understanding of their role in nature. Just what is needed to counter the bad press that bats usually receive.

2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Manager at The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Thanks you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"micro bats"
in 12 reviews
"flying fox"
in 7 reviews
"barbed wire"
in 5 reviews
"dedicated volunteers"
in 3 reviews
"love wildlife"
in 2 reviews
"enlightening experience"
in 2 reviews
"great creatures"
in 2 reviews
"cairns holiday"
in 2 reviews
"fruit bats"
in 3 reviews
"t shirts"
in 3 reviews
"great learning"
in 2 reviews
"personal tour"
in 3 reviews
"permanent residents"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 7 reviews
"eco system"
in 2 reviews
"interesting tour"
in 3 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 4 reviews
Filter

107 - 111 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

The volunteers have an exceptional knowledge and passion for the bats they work with. It's easy to be taken in by the unusual beauty and importance of these animals. Highly recommend this to anyone.

1  Thank Ewiz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

The highlight of our trip to Artherton. We had a 2 hour informative and personalised tour. Even the kids were enthused! Thrilled to be part of such facinating work to save injured bats.

1  Thank Kean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Manager at The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2015

What a great review thank you very much. This has been our busiest tourist season since we opened in 2009, and your review will hopefully make it even better for next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

This is one of the anti-Kuranda must-sees across the Atherton Tablelands. No bazar here. This quiet nature preserve strikes the right balance of science and animal encounter. You are going to like these bats, no matter what your experience to date. And you will learn things you never imagined about how flora and fauna interact across the beautiful landscape you cross to get here.

1  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Manager at The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2015

We're very pleased you got a lot out of your visit here. We like to talk about the ecological services provided by bats and how they fit into the bigger picture of our environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2015

It was a great privilege to get up close and watch and learn about such enchanting creatures. I love bats! The volunteers at the bat hospital do an amazing job of rehabilitating sick and injured bats and returning them to the wild when possible. Most of these creatures come into care as the result of what we humans do either directly or indirectly. Such as barb wire fences, cars, cats and dogs. The educational side of the bat hospital is so worthwhile in helping people understand how important these very special creatures are in our environment. As a wildlife carer myself I was so impressed with what Jenny and her volunteers have achieved. Well worth a visit especially for children.

1  Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre also viewed

Atherton, Queensland
Atherton, Queensland
 

Been to The Bat Hospital Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing