We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
cameron h

Best steak out in years

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 June 2023via mobile
My husband and I ate at the Barron river hotel for dinner. He had a parmigana and I had the rib on the bone. My steak was the best steak I have had at a restaurant in years, with the best mushroom sauce.in ages. The environment is beautiful an old pub with a fireplace. You order and pay at the counter and the rest is table service
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Reception
AU$157
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$173
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$133
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Atherton Hotel Billiards
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Barron Valley Hotel
    1.8 km from Barron Valley Hotel
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    3.4 km from Barron Valley Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Trip.com
    15.4 km from Barron Valley Hotel
    Free parking
    Spa
    • Priceline
    1.7 km from Barron Valley Hotel
    View more hotels in Atherton
    Reviews (80)
    Filter reviews
    80 results
    Traveller rating
    29
    30
    8
    5
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    29
    30
    8
    5
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews steak lunch specials by the glass old style well worth the visit pub crumbs tablelands queensland
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 80 reviews
    Reviewed 9 January 2023 via mobile

    After a very nice drive through varying countryside from Port Douglas. We arrived in Atherton a lovely township steeped in history. The Barron valley Hotel is 1930’s art deco building with photos on every wall telling of its inhabitants and importance of a very important time inF.N.Q. A wonderful and very well priced lunch. Well worth the visit.

    Date of stay: January 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank spoofy1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 October 2022

    The food was amazing. A whole grass fed rib eye steak in the Thai beef salad and wonderful fish and chips, all in large sizes, so didn’t need entrees. Service was incredible, table service for drinks and food without being pushy.

    Date of stay: October 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Alison Q
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 June 2022 via mobile

    Very old traditional type hotel. The lunch specials were $15 Monday to Friday. Could also order drinks with your lunch which was nice. The food was excellent as was the service. Old style architecture with easy access for wheelchair or if you’re a bit older lovely timber finished. The staff were friendly and came around during lunch to check everything was satisfactory. Highly recommend for lunch.

    Date of stay: June 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank tree3425
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 April 2022

    Well…. Where to start, the accommodation was extremely basic, the taps in the rooms producing a black substance. The owner was rude upon arrival and came out with some racist remarks. Beware of the indigenous people who live in a Forrest opposite the hotel. There are reports of them carrying m’achètes and robbing work boots and laptops. As someone white from the United Kingdom, we were verbally abused by some locals. And we were also refused a refund on the weeks rent including the bond which we paid out for. The vast majority of the place was very run down and the kitchen was very overcrowded! All in all would definitely not recommend to others. The people staying at the hostel said the farm work was horrible and you were treat like a number and slurred and shouted at. Not a pleasant experience to say the least. DO NOT STAY HERE

    Date of stay: April 2022
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    1  Thank milesr878
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 February 2022

    Went there for an evening dinner and paid for dinner and drinks. When my wine arrived there was lipstick smudge all around the rim of my glass. I returned the drink immediately and was given another glass. From then on I just didn’t want to be there. Very sloppy hygiene for these days.

    Date of stay: February 2022
    1  Thank 402russelly
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews