We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alison Q

Amazing experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Oct 2022
The food was amazing. A whole grass fed rib eye steak in the Thai beef salad and wonderful fish and chips, all in large sizes, so didn’t need entrees. Service was incredible, table service for drinks and food without being pushy.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Reception
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$158
  • Hotels.com
    AU$145
  • Priceline
    AU$158
0.8 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Atherton Hotel Billiards
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$167
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$173
  • Priceline
    AU$173
  • Hotels.com
    AU$173
1.8 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$160
  • Priceline
    AU$160
  • Agoda.com
    AU$141
1.6 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$145
  • Agoda.com
    AU$129
  • Priceline
    AU$136
1.6 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$185
  • Priceline
    AU$185
  • StayForLong
3.4 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
AU$140
  • Priceline
    AU$140
1.7 km from Barron Valley Hotel
AU$210
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$210
  • Agoda.com
    AU$210
  • eDreams
    AU$210
10.5 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Terrace
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$150
  • Priceline
    AU$150
  • Agoda.com
    AU$150
11.2 km from Barron Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Atherton
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
29
30
8
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
30
8
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak lunch specials by the glass old style well worth the visit pub crumbs tablelands queensland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2022 via mobile

Very old traditional type hotel. The lunch specials were $15 Monday to Friday. Could also order drinks with your lunch which was nice. The food was excellent as was the service. Old style architecture with easy access for wheelchair or if you’re a bit older lovely timber finished. The staff were friendly and came around during lunch to check everything was satisfactory. Highly recommend for lunch.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tree3425
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2022

Well…. Where to start, the accommodation was extremely basic, the taps in the rooms producing a black substance. The owner was rude upon arrival and came out with some racist remarks. Beware of the indigenous people who live in a Forrest opposite the hotel. There are reports of them carrying m’achètes and robbing work boots and laptops. As someone white from the United Kingdom, we were verbally abused by some locals. And we were also refused a refund on the weeks rent including the bond which we paid out for. The vast majority of the place was very run down and the kitchen was very overcrowded! All in all would definitely not recommend to others. The people staying at the hostel said the farm work was horrible and you were treat like a number and slurred and shouted at. Not a pleasant experience to say the least. DO NOT STAY HERE

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank milesr878
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2022

Went there for an evening dinner and paid for dinner and drinks. When my wine arrived there was lipstick smudge all around the rim of my glass. I returned the drink immediately and was given another glass. From then on I just didn’t want to be there. Very sloppy hygiene for these days.

Date of stay: February 2022
1  Thank 402russelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2022 via mobile

Adjacent to the Barron Valley Hotel on the main street of Atherton, this café was the first stop in my road trip from Cairns out to the Gulf of Carpentaria. The coffee was wonderful (local White Whale coffee), the staff were friendly and chatty, and my corned beef and sauerkraut toastie was oh so tasty (they have a toastie menu with some really interesting choices & use local Tablelands bread from The Country Crumb). I would stop off here again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank WorldTravla7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2021

On holidays and staying at Palm Cove. Visited the Barron Valley Hotel on previous holidays and have enjoyed every visit. The Hotel is beautiful! Original Art Deco. Love it!! The staff are very friendly, the food spot on. Oysters were beautifully fresh and really large. The owners are very friendly and explained the history of the hotel. We will be back and we recommend the Barron River to all visiting Atherton.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank suesK9583SN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews